Crafting to lose weight, dealing with food cravings, Food Addiction, losing weight, Medical Weight Loss Program, needle felting, optifast, weight loss journal

Crafting to Beat Cravings

When I began this weight loss adventure, I knew I’d have to find some way to keep myself away from the pantry, so I asked my husband to get me some needle felting materials for Christmas.  I’d never needle felted before, or attempted any type of fabric art (other than using silk in a few of my mixed media art pieces).  I consulted the trusty inter-web and in no time I found enough materials and tutorials to felt my caloric dissonance away.

After completing a prepackaged kit to make an adorable bunny (sorry I haven’t taken a pic of it), I decided to strike out on my own. With no pattern to call my own, and What Does the Fox Say? ear-worming its way into my brain, I decided to give into its calling and felt a fox.

What DOES the fox say?  Sorry to put that song in your head! (photo by me)
What DOES the fox say? Sorry to put that song in your head! (photo by me)

Though the picture doesn’t show it, he’s about four inches tall,  2.5 inches wide and 3.5 inches in length from nose to hind quarters.  He took about 6-7 hours to complete and I poked myself with the very sharp felting needle about eight times!  My number one crafting rule is no food (but tons of water) while felting! Here’s a side view:

Oh, what a fine, foxy fellow! (Photo by me)
Oh, what a fine, foxy fellow! (Photo by me)

My next attempt was at the request of my eldest daughter.  She thought a sea turtle would be divine. My first step was to consult Google images for a good picture, however, my turtle isn’t 100% anatomically correct.  My second step was to buy more wool roving and a finger protector from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store (no, I didn’t just buy those two things–it is truly impossible to leave Michael’s with just a few items).  Next, I set to felting, but soon found that wearing a finger protector was like wearing a condom in a monogamous relationship, it just didn’t feel right.  Fifteen total hours and 30 finger pricks later, I ended up with this little lady:

Making her way from the depths of the ocean, the mother sea turtle will search for the perfect place to deposit her eggs. Actually, I'm not sure if it's a girl or a boy! (Photo by me)
Making her way from the depths of the ocean, the mother sea turtle will search for the perfect place to deposit her eggs. Actually, I’m not sure if it’s a girl or a boy! (Photo by me)

Here’s a different view.  It’s about six inches long, six inches wide from front flipper to flipper , 2.5 inches high and very solidly felted.

Look at that face! (Photo by me)
Look at that face! (Photo by me)

I’m not sure what my next felting adventure will bring; perhaps a Ninja Turtle or a gnome.  At least the hours that I’ve put into these two kept me out of the kitchen!

What do you do to keep your mind off of food when you’re trying to lose weight?  Please share your ideas in the comments below.

Also, any ideas of what I should felt next?

4 thoughts on “Crafting to Beat Cravings”

  1. You gifted gal! I love Mr Foxy Fox! And the sea turtle is exquisite. Delightful critters with such personality. Cool photos. Their poses made me smile 😀 I hope they weren’t too temperamental to work with as models… I know these creative types lol!! 😀

    1. They were very good models for me! My daughter had some lovely seasonal scrapbook paper that I used for a background for them. I really enjoy needle felting, but I’ve been too busy lately. I did make a polar bear during our polar vortex here a couple of months ago! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

