blogging, enjoying family, Exercise, learning, losing weight, love, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program, optifast, setting goals, Thankfulness, weight loss journal, Wellness Center

Day 44& 45: Sore Legs, Happy Heart!

Thanks to all of my WordPress buddies for all of your support!  You make me happy!
Thanks to all of my WordPress buddies for all of your support! You make me happy!

It’s been a week since I’ve talked about what’s been going on with my weight loss.  Wednesday, was weigh in day and I lost another 1.5 pounds.  I would have loved for the scale to tell me I’d lost a few more, but I kind of expected my loss to appear less this week due to some extra water weight from the time of month that it is.  My doctor said that it’s not uncommon for women to appear to have gained weight during  this time, so 1.5 pounds is actually really good.

I’m so excited to tell everyone about my first few days at the Wellness Center! 🙂 Wednesday was my intake evaluation.  Other than being told that I need to focus on low impact machines and activities for my arthritic ankles, I performed well on all of the tests they had me do.  We also  created a workout schedule. Mondays, I’ll have either a guided, power walking class  in the pool, or aqua aerobics.  Wednesday, I’ll do an hour of aquatics with my trainer, Olivia, and Thursday’s I’ll do an hour of low impact machines in the main gym.  Friday, I can choose either equipment or aquatics (I’ll most likely choose aquatics!).

Today, I came in for my first official workout, which was all cardio with a bit of abdominal work at the end.  I did 20 minutes on the reclining elliptical, 15 minutes on the bicycle, 15 minutes on the Nu-step machine, and 10 minutes of ab. work with the trainer.  Everyone there is so positive and helpful that I couldn’t help but smile through my sweat.

Though my legs are a little bit sore this evening, my heart is soaring with happiness because of all of the wonderful people who are supporting me during my weight loss adventure.  My doctor, dietician and counselor, the trainers at the Wellness Center, my husband and my children, my friends  at home and here on WordPress are all part of the village that’s helping me find my health again, and I’m so very thankful! 🙂

Have a great day/night (depending on where you are in the world), everyone!

19 thoughts on “Day 44& 45: Sore Legs, Happy Heart!”

    1. I’m glad to inspire you. I’ve lost and gained several times in my life. I hope this will be the last time I have to lose a large amount. I’m getting lots of education to help keep it off. Everything I learn in classes and counseling, I try to share on here. Not everyone lives in an area where they can get this much help, and I’m happy to share whatever I’m learning. Thank you for visiting and posting. 🙂

  1. I am so happy for you! Well done, you go girl, excellent and yes legs will be sore and bits of pieces of you will be, that you didn’t know existed. You are on your way however to be a healthier you. When you get tempted…think of those calories, think of the dress you want to wear. It is a whole new mindset, takes some willpower, but with people behind you, you are on your way!! I just did a 45 min walk this morning and out of boredom another 30 min one this afternoon. I ate too many lollies last night, so NONE today 🙂 I was a gym junkie for 3 years, going 6 times a week, I loved it, but I went too often and pushed myself too much, then got small injuries and grew tired of the whole thing. Now all I do is walk…but it is doing something and the more exercise the more endorphins released, the better you sleep, the more you concentrate. I could have done a blog on my response to you! Keep that heart forever soaring! x 🙂

    1. Thank you for such a well-written reply. 🙂 Walking is great exercise. I really enjoy it, as well, but I do tend to have ankle pain if I overdo it. I was so excited to use the low impact equipment at the gym today. I have so much internal energy that often stays bottled up because my ankles won’t let me go as far and as long as I’d like to. Getting this weight off will help with keeping away the pain! I was surprised at my endurance today in the absence of pain. I can’t wait to go back and do even more!
      You seem like a very happy-hearted person, as well, so keep yours soaring high, too! 🙂

      1. Oh I have my moments of not so happy hearted, but one can’t be doom and gloom when writing to try and inspire someone can they? I am happy you want to go back and each time will get easier for you. 🙂

  2. This is fantastic news! You go girl, you can do this and just think about how great you’re starting to feel and look. My jaw dropped at 15 minutes on the reclining elliptical… I’ve used it and can only last 7 minutes…lol I walk, I walk everywhere just about

    Truly inspiring and motivating!

  3. How wonderful!! Well done 🙂 I promise you, the more you exercise, the more you will enjoy it and you will feel so good!! I can be feeling tired and fed up, get on my bike and an hour later I’m a different person, I’m happy and flying though life again! X

  4. very inspiring! sounds like a good workout. I am about to start doing weights. My doctor says I have been too focused on cardio. Don’t know why but weights don’t do it for me:-) anyway, wishing you continued success 🙂

    1. Thank you for your nice wishes! They’re going to add weights to my workout starting next week. I don’t mind them–unless they’re too heavy. I enjoy cardio a bit more though. Hope you’re having a great weekend! 🙂

  5. Good for you – That’s fantastic that you lost weight! That workout sounds pretty full-on! Although we always curse hurting ourselves after a hard workout, we always feel good for exercising 🙂

    1. Thank you! Oh, I’m sure you two could have handled this. You’re young and in shape. We’re getting ready to get 8-12 inches of snow here, so I’ll get my workout tomorrow in shoveling! Have a great day/night! 🙂 Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  6. I love the way you inspire with positive thoughts. It is indeed a challenge and a journey, not a cause for worry. Way to go–you shall surely succeed! Also, I love you–see you in about five minutes once you get back to the living room!!

Comments make me reappear!

