blogging, Daily Prompt, Having fun, learning

Responsibly Immature

cleverly responsible buttonMy youngest was about twelve when she  laughingly said, “I love how you are, Momma!  You’re responsibly immature!”  She was, and still is, correct. My responsible half never allows me to be late for anything.  I pay my bills the day I get them in the mail. My house is mostly spotless, even in the corners and around the toilets. My pantry and fridge are stocked with healthy foods and drinks.  My car never has less than a half tank of gas in it, and I’ll always be the designated driver. I’ll admit when I’m wrong, and quickly apologize. I vote, even in referendum elections, and would never think of trying to get out of jury duty. I’m well-read, watch documentaries, love art, and classical music. I wear utilitarian bras, sensible underwear, shoes that won’t cause me to slip, and have the world’s largest cardigan collection.  I have gum, snacks, a water bottle and Band-Aids in my purse at the ready. I’m basically your all-around, go-to girl when something needs done. I can always, without a doubt, be counted on.

My immature side knows all of the words to the latest top 40 pop hits.  I’m up on entertainment news and know more about Ke$ha than a 49 year-old woman should.  I adore trashy TV and have even

These girls shop for their bling at Michael's just like I do!
These girls shop for their bling at Michael’s just like I do!

met the Gypsies from TLCs Gypsy Sisters while shopping at Michael’s. I love tattoos and crazy hair. I’ve never owned mom jeans– and never ever will! I can twerk.  I’ll laugh to the point of tears at poop stories, and even have a few of my own to share.  I have boundless energy and am always up for new challenges and adventures. I build sand castles and play in the surf like a kid. I seize the day–and the night. I’m techno-savvy. I love going places, being busy, and meeting new people. In my head I feel seventeen with endless possibilities ahead of me. Those possibilities will always surround me no matter how many calendars I throw away and put up.  Life is fun and beautiful when you’re responsibly immature. Did I mention I can twerk?

This is my latest favorite song: (Who would guess that this nice, conservative-looking housewife likes to dance to this?)

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt.  What keeps you feeling young at heart?

Here are some other great posts about staying young at heart:

Secrets of the universe | Perspectives on life, universe and everything

53 thoughts on “Responsibly Immature”

  1. Wonderful combination, my friend. I’m not nearly so hip–though I am combination of responsible and fun-loving. Don’t know the music, but then I don’t live in the US. Keep up the perfect oxymoronic personification!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Mom jeans are the worst – for anyone!! It’s the way they TRY to be cool with a slightly darker denim than normal?! Love your choice with Jason Derulo!! Great post. Lots of inspiration to seize the day – reminds me I haven’t splashed around in the sea for ages!! The Gypsy girls look like nice people and super cool too! Very impressed at anyone who can twerk!

    1. I can’t get that song out of my head today! My daughters taught me to twerk–it’s actually really a workout for your abs and thighs!
      You should find a way to watch the Gypsy show. They’re from a town not far from mine and they’re wild. They’re actually a little scary because they’re famous for fighting!
      Oh, Lita, you must get yourself to the sea ASAP! The closest beach to me is four hours away 😦 so I only get there once a year, or so.
      I don’t care if I’m 100 years old and in a nursing home–I promise to always know the difference between mom jeans and cool jeans! 🙂

      1. The Gypsy show sounds fascinating!! I will try and find some youtube clips or DVD. There was a time when we got LOADS of brilliant hot TV from US. I almost had to get up early to catch the great shows. For some reason we haven’t had that many new titles from US for years. I still love Scrubs, the teen stuff like One Tree Hill, Dawson’s Creek etc, Friends of course, Frasier and Everybody loves Raymond (love this). We need more of your stuff!!!

        Yes. Beach must happen to me soon!!!!!!!!!

        I saw the clip of that pop star (I’m going to say the wrong name here… was it Miley someone?) twerking and it looked hard but I may check out for work out!

        I love the way autocorrect changes twerking to tweaking!

        Love your posts. Full of sunshine and new ideas! Have a great Sunday ;-D

      2. I used to be addicted to the show Scrubs. My daughters even have some of the seasons on DVD. I’ve also watched Frasier, Friends, and Everybody Loves Raymond. I’ve never watched the other two that you mentioned. Reality TV has been wildly popular over here for at least the past decade or more. It usually features people who don’t have enough common sense to not air their dirty laundry. I tend to enjoy watching that!

        Miley Cyrus! She also very popular over here. Her music isn’t bad–she just acts wild for publicity.

        Tweaking is a whole different problem! 🙂

        Thank you for your kind words. I do always try to stay positive and not take life too seriously! You have a wonderful Sunday, too! 🙂

      3. Ah yes Miley Cyrus! (it’s such an unusual name = my excuse!). We are overflowing with reality TV. Agree with your sentiment that there’s not much common sense in sharing with the world your dirty laundry! But this is fascinating. Maybe for the housemates it is cathartic in some way. Happy days! 😉

      1. 🙂 My youngest and I used to dance like crazy every evening for about an hour. Now that she’s working full time, we don’t get to as often. It’s kind of sad once they join the real world and aren’t there to hang out with as much. I’m eager for grandchildren, but I have to be patient for that! 🙂

      2. Aw, you’ve still got a few good years left with him. Honestly, boys are the sweetest during their teen years. My stepson was a dream during his teen years. He just turned 20 last month and is such a mellow and easy-going guy.

      1. Ha ha well maybe the tweeting will help shift that even faster 😉 win win – it sounds like you’re already disappearing rather rapidly though so maybe best to wait 🙂

      2. It would be nice if I could twerk my butt away to a smaller size! I think I’ll have to rely on the gym for that! The gym that I should be getting ready to drive to instead of drinking tea and reading blogs! 🙂

  3. By reading this, I found the term (responsibly immature) that I was searching for – so thanks a lot to your daughter 🙂 I’ve had on my mind what exactly to call that way of being. So, now I know more about myself 🙂 Best, from Estonia.

Comments make me reappear!

