Appreciation, blogging, Daily Prompt, Having fun, Writing

An Uncomplicated Code

There are several codes that have made an impression on me.

  • There’s Dexter’s code of killing only those who deserve it.zombieland-rule-4
  • In the movie Zombieland, Columbus had a code for surviving the Zombie Apocalypse.
  • Hammurabi created a code that covered everything from food to religion.
  • The Samurais had the Seven Virtues of Bushido to follow as their code.
  • Dan Brown made us ponder the traditional version of the Bible in The Da Vinci  Code.
  • Dr. Phil McGraw has a plethora of acronyms and tips for avoiding bad people in his book Life Code.
  • Even good old Samuel Morse created a useful code for us.

My code for living isn’t quite as complicated as all of these.  I don’t have the stomach for killing, the agility for Samurai-ing, the Texas witticisms of Dr. Phil,  or the memory to decipher dots and dashes. (Heck, I can barely remember my gym locker combination!)

Part of my code looks like the rule chart in my old classroom:

a class

  • Treat others as you would want to be treated
  • Respect yourself, the people, and things around you
  • Always try your best
  • Ask for help when you need it
  • Keep your work area clean and neat

Another section resembles the rules at an amusement park:

  • Have fun!
  • Go easy on the cotton candy

    Hang on!
    Hang on!
  • Keep arms legs and objects inside of the car at all times
  • Hold onto the safety bar when the ride gets bumpy

The final section of my code could be right out of a self-help book:

  • Discover your bliss
  • Feed your soul
  • Appreciate the little things
  • Stay connected to the power of positivity
  • Accept yourself and others as they are
  • Let go of the past
  • Forgive with all of your heart

acceptance

 

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt.  Do you have a code for living?  What is it?

Here’s my very intelligent husband’s response.

And…some other lovely people who participated:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. LOVE, SEX AND SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES [Reblog] | She Writes
    2. Life | Kate Murray
    3. Texting Or Talking? | The Jittery Goat
    4. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
    5. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | mayeverydayahappyday
    6. Revelation | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
    7. Patriot | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
    8. DP Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Sabethville
    9. Don’t be a d*ck. | thoughtsofrkh
    10. Walk the Line: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
    11. do your best and leave the rest to fortuosity | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
    12. This teacher’s code | One Educator’s Life
    13. Cherish Time | wisskko’s blog
    14. rivington | yi-ching lin photography
    15. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
    16. My codes: A photo essay | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
    17. [M.M.X.I.V. 89] Texts, letters, talking | Never A Worry
    18. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
    19. Respect The Artist, Respect The Work | Goodnight Hestia
    20. Creed « Averil Dean
    21. Daily Prompt: I Walk The Line-Psychology: Understanding Why We Do What We Do | Journeyman
    22. Values For Sheen | Flowers and Breezes
    23. Codes 1, 2, and 3 | Among the Whispers
    24. What’s My Line(s)? | The Zombies Ate My Brains
    25. 287. The Moral Compass | Barely Right of Center
    26. Walking the Mommy Line While out on Business Travel « psychologistmimi
    27. What Would Life Be without Them? | Ms. Raven Marie
    28. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Completely Disappear
    29. A Marauder May be a Good Person in Disguise | Virginia Views
    30. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | My Atheist Blog
    31. We all have values | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
    32. Taking Off My Shoes | Kosher Adobo
    33. Difference Engine | Speculative Paradigm Shifts
    34. life… ruless hahahaha.. it is wrekless | from dusk to dawn….
    35. Staying in Focus: Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line: Love Will Keep Us Together | Staying in Focus
    36. I Walk the Line (Daily Prompt) | Roving Bess
    37. I Walk the Line | The Nameless One
    38. Having power is not nearly as important as what you choose to do with it | An Upturned Soul
    39. Daily prompt – i walk the line | myjourneyeveryday
    40. There is a Bigger Picture.. | B.Kaotic
    41. Pizza’s and Such! | Views Splash!
    42. “Have You Done Your Chores?” | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
    43. Where is the Line? | cateritforward
    44. Live life! | Always was a rebel…
    45. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Bob’s Blog-O-Rama
    46. Daily Prompt: I walk the line | Simply about Life
    47. Divergent in Photography and Thought | Pairings :: Art + What Goes With It
    48. An Uncomplicated Code | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

 

 

 

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “An Uncomplicated Code”

  1. This is splendid, as are you! Uncomplicated yet thoroughly meaningful. And I think you would be great at samurai-ing…except for that pesky “helmet-crushing-hair” part…

      1. I think that’s what matters. There are tons of talented painters out there not having any fun.

    1. Thank you! I just tried to think about how I normally live to come up with it. 🙂 I found that free software you told me about yesterday! I’m still messing with it to get it to look nice. Thank you! 🙂

  2. So many good, honorable codes and rules to live by. Letting go of the past is huge. Sometimes it’s easy to get mired down in the negativity of the pass, that it prohibits us from moving forward.

  3. What a beautiful life you must have. Thank you for a lovely list. My code for life and that the rule for life that we share with our children is simple, “live to work and not work to live”. Enjoying life and appreciating all. Look for the good in all. Live simply and simply live. Most importantly and above all, give thanks and the glory to He who guides us.

    Maria

  4. So much joy in this post. Your words paint a beautiful outlook on life. I love the wisdom and fun in these pointers. The ‘clean and neat’ part I may need a prod on! In fact reading the post is nudging me to sort out my messy desk pronto. Thank you for the encouragement. Good call! 😀

    1. I’m not following my neatness rule right now, by any means. My gym bag is in the middle of the living room floor. My shopping bag is nearby and I’m sprawled out on my recliner having the BEST cup of tea ever! It’s called Maharaja Chai Oolong and it’s cinnamon heaven in a cup. When the tea’s gone–that’s when I clean! It’s a pretty big mug, so I might be relaxing for a while! Hope you’re having a great day! 🙂

      1. I want this Maharaja Chai Oolong!! I have never seen this on UK supermarket shelves! It sounds beautiful. I like Chai so much. Such a gorgeous tea! Is it a particular brand? My fave tea at the moment (that I can get hold of) is jasmine green tea. I also found an instant coffee with vanilla flavour which smells gorgeous. I’m on the coffee at the moment so hereI go raising my cup to say cheers! 🙂

      2. The brand is Teavana. It’s fairly expensive and not something I’d usually splurge on, but my dear, best friend, Donna, gave it to me yesterday as an early birthday gift along with a really cool steeper that releases the brewed tea when you sit it atop your cup. I know many people add milk and sugar to chai, but I always drink it plain. This blend has very prominent cinnamon and ginger flavors and is naturally sweet tasting to me. The website is teavana.com and they do ship internationally.

        I like jasmine green tea, as well. It’s my youngest daughter’s absolute favorite.

        I like coffee, now and again, but I only like it with creamer, which I can’t have while on Optifast, so I’ve just not been drinking it all.
        Cheers right back to you, and I hope you’re able to find the chai! 🙂

      3. Thank you so much for this handy link. I think I will try as a treat. The steeper sounds great. I have heard of them but not tried so thanks for the heads up how they work.

        Haven’t tried Chai without milk so that’s a new idea too. It will especially let the ginger through. Good call!

        Your youngest daughter has the best taste in tea! I can drink the jasmine green tea forever. I have a box of white tea that I am trying but it’s hard when you have a firm favourite!

        So it’s your birthday soon!!! 😀 Exciting… I love turning 21 again and again and again!!!

      4. The really nice thing about this tea is that you can steep it more than once, so even though it’s expensive, it lasts. I’m not allowed creamers of any sort with Optifast, plus, I can’t tolerate dairy to put milk in Chai. I’m such a cinnamon and spice lover that I’m fine with it as is.

        Yep, I’m turning 21, yet again! 🙂

      5. Agreed. Cinnamon is so delicious. I am not ‘up’ on the natural health benefits of it but it’s bound to be a holistic ingredient too. The steeper sounds a good purchase. Top tip! 😀

      6. Cinnamon has natural anti-inflammatory properties. I’ve had asthma my whole life, so anything that might help with it, I try! I really hope you enjoy the tea and the steeper! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

