blogging, Crafting to lose weight, Daily Prompt, Writing

Persuing Perfection

My husband has so eloquently inspired me to participate in the daily prompt with his wonderful post, that I just couldn’t resist!  Today’s magical Daily Prompt, is “Express Yourself:  Do you love to dance, sing, write, sculpt, paint, or debate? What’s your favorite way to express yourself, creatively?

Until my husband’s urging, I ignored this prompt.  This is mostly because I’ve always felt much like the “jack of all trades, master of none,” kind of girl.

  • I love to write, but other than an article in a tourism magazine (that no one reads) during my stint in public relations, I’ve never been published.
  • I’ve been told I’m naturally funny and quick-witted by friends, but my humor has never stretched further than my inner circle, and maybe a few blog posts.
  • I’m an excellent cook, but can’t chop onions with lightning fast speed like a Cordon Bleu chef or make creations that grace foodie magazine covers.
  • I dabble in crafting and painting, and can get lost in pretty colors and designs, but I’ve seen better work in the home décor section of Target.
  • I was involved in theatre for many years, and was even in a PBS film as an extra, but I seriously doubt that I’ll ever be handed a Tony or Oscar for any of my performances.

I find it both humorous, and frustrating, that with every creative endeavor that I undertake, I’ve had an unrealistic expectation to be perfect at it; to prove that I have a gift. Perhaps, this has much to do with my upbringing.  My younger brother was a true child prodigy.  He was the kid you might see on Oprah, or YouTube.  At the age of four, he could play classical piano beautifully, with absolutely no lessons. Gifted with perfect pitch, and the ability to mimic any song he heard, he received quite a lot of notoriety.  Just three years older than him, I usually felt like most of my creative outlets were just that; outlets, hobbies, ways to relax or blow off steam.  As I’ve gotten older, and much closer with my brother, I’ve realized that not being perfect in my creative expression is perfectly fine, and that being creative has more to do with the enjoyment of the process, rather than the flawlessness of the skill.

And maybe artistic creativity isn’t meant to be my true gift…

Last week, my best girlfriend who has been struggling with a brain injury, sent me this text “Every time I’m with you, It’s like you breathe life back into me.  I’m so pumped up, excited, and looking forward to life after we hang out.”   That compliment was better than ANY Tony award!

For your viewing (or maybe eye-rolling) pleasure, here’s some of my “art” :

Every artwork looks "real" in a frame!
Every artwork looks “real” in a frame!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look out, Target Home Décor section!
Look out, Target home decor section!

 

 

My needle-felted turtle
My needle-felted turtle

 

 

 

**What are your creative outlets? Do you strive for perfection, or just to enjoy yourself in the process?**

 

 

 

 

Here’s how some other bloggers express themselves:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. Freedom in a pen | MC’s Whispers
    2. YouTube Clips: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
    3. Jamming | Knowledge Addiction
    4. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
    5. The Match (Part 5) 40 Acres | The Jittery Goat
    6. Singing All The Way | Knowledge Addiction
    7. DP Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | Sabethville
    8. Write to Heal | From Hiding to Blogging
    9. Xi’an, the Place with Enriched Stories | From Hiding to Blogging
    10. Taipei – a Mesmerizing City | From Hiding to Blogging
    11. Broken Dreams? | Tale of Two Tomatoes
    12. Daily prompt – Express yourself! | myjourneyeveryday
    13. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | benjaminsolak
    14. Bed Talks | Views Splash!
    15. The Creator God and His Gift to Us | meanderedwanderings
    16. Express Yourself | Dragon Droppings
    17. Express Yourself | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
    18. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself-Is it Children’s Obligation to Take Care of Their Parents? | Journeyman
    19. I teach! | Purplesus’ Blog
    20. Quadruple Threat [Intimate Sessions] | She Writes
    21. [M.M.X.I.V. 95] The dancing feet | Never A Worry
    22. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
    23. Building Blocks of a Project | Photography Journal Blog
    24. More than an Expression…an Extension of Me | snapshotsofawanderingheart
    25. E Is For Expressing Yourself | My Little Avalon
    26. My Games… | from dusk to dawn….
    27. Creativity in pranks, viruses and retaliation: This week’s weird and wacky news « psychologistmimi
    28. Reach High | Flowers and Breezes
    29. Freedom In Expression | Coffee With Jesus
    30. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
    31. DAILY PROMPT: Express Yourself | Melissa Holden
    32. My dog doesn’t see the point of leg weaves |
    33. 8 things I have to say about debate | Never Stationary
    34. A Small Guest With a Box of Sweets | wisskko’s blog
    35. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | thechangingpalette
    36. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | I Just Like Doing Them | Shawn Daily
    37. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
    38. Sunset Over India | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
    39. Daily Prompt Express Yourself : Joy | Angela McCauley
    40. Please Don’t Call Me A Writer
    41. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog
    42. Therapy | In the Present
    43. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | That Montreal Girl
    44. Daily Prompt: Express yourself | A cup of noodle soup
    45. Express Yourself | Kimmiecode
    46. Daily prompt: Express yourself! | Go, See, Live
    47. Express Yourself | The Land Slide Photography
    48. you keep me at varying | y
    49. No Such Thing as Self-Expression | Author Laura Lee
    50. Comin’ Through the Rye | Speculative Paradigm Shifts

 

 

35 thoughts on “Persuing Perfection”

  1. I love the turtle! I wish I was artsy, but alas, I struggle to draw stick people.

    You seem like a very creative person, it’s a great thing to be able to express yourself in different ways. Go you!

    1. Thanks, Janey! My replies keep disappearing, so I hope I’m not repeating myself! Everything I do is just for fun and relaxation. I’ll bet you’re more creative than what you give yourself credit for! Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. Have a great day!

  2. By its nature, art is not an exact science. Therefore it cannot actually be measured (Sotheby’s notwithstanding) or, really, even compared. Your needle-felted sea turtle brings me as much joy and wonder as anything in the Smithsonian.

    It has been my experience that: (a) you finish what you start, and (b) you put a unique spark of creativity…of yourself…into every single thing that you do. You are by my definition a complete success, as a human being AND as an artist.

    And whatever happened to your framed “Steampunk Kitty” that you gave me?!

    1. Steampunk Kitty is probably in the huge stack of frames that I have in my walk-in closet. I moved him when I rotated living room pictures this past summer. Don’t go searching for him though–it’s a balancing act in there and I wouldn’t want something to fall on your head!

      You flatter me, but you’re the success! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Kitty. I responded to you before, but it seems to have disappeared on here. I think of myself as pretty average in most of my endeavors, but I am pretty good at being a buddy! 🙂 Hope you have a nice day!!

    1. Sure! It might take me a while because I’ve been having trouble find good wool around here that packs as tightly as this particular wool did. Needle felting is a really great way to keep yourself occupied and your hands too busy to pick up food! My rule is “No feeding while felting!”

  3. Firstly, what a beautiful comment your girlfriend made, that was so sweet. Secondly I like your fish, framed or not. Thirdly, we all like to believe that we have inner talents, no matter what they may be. Striving for perfectionism can mean you can fall on your face and I think planking is now so passé lol. Your turtle is adorable too. Now your question … Writing is my my foremost outlet, painting, yes I dabble now and then, though haven’t for a while. Horse riding. Reading and writing my eulogies. Trying to sing, till I get told to shut up. Cooking? Hmmm – will do a four course dinner party then not cook for weeks afterwards. 🙂 think that covers it. x

    1. Aw, thank you so much! I think you’re a lovely person, too! 🙂 My best girlfriend is so awesome. She’s one of those people who knows how to make everyone feel special about themselves, so a compliment from her means a lot to me.

  4. I want a felted turtle too! I agree..the quest for perfection makes us always feel limited somehow. You are right, some people’s talents aren’t as tangible as others. Sometimes the talents are cerebral, internal, and quiet. I believe that I have the ability to make my family feel very secure (and conversely, I have the power to make them feel the opposite). I have an ability to make everyone feel like everything is just going to be okay. I talk people off of imagined cliffs all the time with gentle humor, anecdotes, and a gentle suggestion of what’s real and imagined. In our society, I think these gifts go unnoticed… but they are gifts nonetheless. Now if only I could do this for myself! I’ve enjoyed our conversations..and am glad you found me and are following! ❤

    1. I’m glad I found you, too. Honestly, being able to talk people off of imagined cliffs is quite a gift. My best friend since college worked as a social worker and counselor for many years. She has that gift, as well, and I don’t think it goes unnoticed. Who knows what imaginary cliff I might have plunged off of, or what douche bag I might have married without her influence! 🙂 Your gift is a wonderful one!

  5. I enjoyed this post. Thanks for sharing!

    I used to create brain puzzles for a website. Like you, I never felt particularly “creative” until I started doing that. The website shut down the puzzle side of things last year, but before it did, I had published hundreds of puzzles that ran for a smallish (100-800 people) audience and was generally well regarded by the other puzzlemakers and solvers.

    My artistic husband has started dragging the family to an art camp each summer and I’m finally starting to internalize the notion that creativity is not about perfection. It’s actually more about relaxing. 🙂 Thanks to that camp, I’ve taken classes on photography and jewelry making and been pleasantly surprised with what I’ve come up with. The jewelry is amateur but still gets remarks when I wear it. And one of my photos was actually used in advertisement for the convention center at which the camp was held!

    I think blogging counts as a creative endeavor too. Any writing takes creativity. You have to decide how to craft what you want to say into something that’s enjoyable to read.

    As a perfectionist, I have a hard time letting go and enjoying what I’m doing. But the best, most creative stuff I’ve ever done has come when I’ve quit trying so hard to get it right.

    1. Thanks so much for visiting! I’m going to have to check out your blog. I enjoy doing brain puzzles. You’re so right, the times when you relax and don’t worry about perfectionism seem to be the times that you get your best work done.
      Have a great day! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

