blogging, enjoying family, Having fun, losing weight, Medical Weight Loss Program, optifast, weight loss journal, Writing

Baggy Pants Equals Worn Out Hubby

So many choices!  So much money spent!
So many choices! So much money spent!

For some reason, I thought my chubby clothes would fit me forever. My tent-like tops, covering cardigans and ballooning britches had been with me for ages and I couldn’t imagine myself in anything else. Other than buying jeans a couple of months ago, I’ve stood fairly firm about not shopping for new clothing until all of the weight was gone.  However, lately I’ve noticed more friends and family members silently signaling that my bra was showing, or that my pants were hanging past my underwear.  Last night, while dancing in the living room with my daughters and future son-in-law, my pants fell down around my knees.  I’d like to blame Katy Perry for the awesome beat in her latest song, but really the only person to blame is me for not wanting to give up my fat pants.

So today, after scouring the internet for deals and coupons and packing my to-go Optifast shakes, my hubby and I headed to the mall.  Old Navy was our first stop.  I’ve been overweight for a long time and many American stores only sell their plus-sized clothing online.  Because of this, shopping in a store hasn’t brought me much success. I can’t tell you how incredible it felt to pick things off of the rack like everyone else and fill my shopping cart with tops, capris, shorts, skirts and dresses that all fit me.  For the first time in at least 12 years, I was faced with the conundrum of what to choose from a whole slew of clothing.  I know I overdid it.  I ended up with three pairs of capris, one pair of shorts, one dress, one skirt, one pair of workout pants, three blouses, two cardigans,  three tee-shirts, two French hens, and a partridge in a pear tree!  The whole while my sweet husband pushed the cart, returned things that didn’t fit to their proper place, and dodged the crowds of Spring shoppers.

After Old Navy we hit up the shoe store and I found a new pair of sneakers, a pair of sandals, and some workout socks (that I’ll be hiding from my daughters)!    Once we arrived home, I had a little fashion show for my daughters, and then took a nice walk through the neighborhood in my new workout pants and sneakers (I also wore a tee-shirt).  Upon arriving home from my stroll, I found my dear, sweet, hubby snoring in his recliner.  I wore the poor guy out today–darn those baggy pants!

Hope everyone has had a wonderful Saturday or Sunday.  It was such a gorgeous day here! 🙂

27 thoughts on “Baggy Pants Equals Worn Out Hubby”

  1. Sorry about the snoring–guess I was kicking it Old navy….

    You look fabulous, and I enjoyed your spring fashion show also!

    1. Honey! You’re awake!! Thanks for being such a beacon of patience today! I know shopping isn’t your favorite thing. I’ll watch something on the Military Channel with you tonight so we’re even! xx00<3

  2. You did not over do at all. My hubby has lost a lot and needs to do the male equivalent to what you did today. We live in a rural area so need to drive several hours to get to an area that has his favorite brands. I mentioned how I needed a few things and shock of shocks he penciled in a date for shopping. He agreed to

    1. Yay! I’m feeling better about spending so much. I hope you and your husband have a fun and productive shopping trip! 🙂 My husband hates to shop for himself. I usually have to buy all of his clothing for him to keep him from wearing beat up clothing!

  3. How wonderful it is to lose weight and go on a shopping spree. How nice not to reach for the old you and to grab the new you and how chuffed you must be with your new wardrobe. YAY you, so happy for you and glad hubby has woken up 😉

    1. I’ve already packed a new outfit to change into when I’m finished my workout today. 🙂 My husband is such a patient soul when it comes to shopping with me. Most men would have gone screaming from such a busy store! 🙂

    1. It was really fun! It’s been a very long time since I’ve had so many choices. I think I went a little crazy! I think the tops I got will fit for a long time because I’m able to now wear a regular XL (I’m top heavy even when I’m a normal weight). The bottoms I’ll probably shrink out of in a month or so, but I’ll wear them baggy for a while–or till they fall down! 🙂 Have a great day, Elaine!

      1. I can do some hemming and stitching, but I think it would take a pro to let in some of these pants in!

        I hope you had a nice weekend. It was literally perfect here. Things are getting so green and gorgeous. 🙂

  4. I’m so glad that your journey of disappearing goes so well. Getting new clothes in between is important, it makes you see how good you look and is a reward for being so disciplined. So, well done! 🙂

  5. Haha I laughed at this post especially at the hiding your socks from your daughters. What is it with daughters that no socks are safe. My daughter is always taking my son’s socks too, no socks are safe! And cardigans, no matter they are 10 sizes too big, she has them… all of them. They’re like cute clothing snafflers.

    1. You’ve got that! Sometimes I do their laundry just to reclaim my items! They go after my chewing gum, as well. Although, my youngest gifted me with 10 packs of it on my birthday (it’s hiding in my underwear drawer!). Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  6. Sounds fantastic! Congratulations.

    I’ve been doing the exact same – losing weight and still wearing my old “fat” clothes. The last time I went out, I found my trousers were dropping lower and lower on one side because I had keys in my pocket!

    I haven’t bought any new clothes yet, but I did enjoy that realization. 😀

      1. That’d be nice. I’d like to get some jeans that just fit, rather than having to try on a gazillion pairs and then not getting any. Thanks for your encouragement. 😀

Comments make me reappear!

