blogging, enjoying family, Exercise, Finding old friends, food and family celebrations, Friendship, Having fun, losing weight, love, Medical Weight Loss Program, optifast

Weight Loss and Life Updates :)

Ooooh, someone's giving a free gun show!
Ooooh, someone’s giving a free gun show!

Yesterday was my last training session for the wellness center’s eight-week, weight management program. I’m not finished at the wellness center, by any means; I’m just moving on to a different phase of the program.  Instead of meeting with a trainer twice a week for an hour, I’ll meet with a trainer once a week for thirty minutes to discuss my progress and make any need adjustments.  Now that I’ve graduated to this phase, I’m expected to be more responsible for scheduling my own workout times. I’m not worried about this, because I’ve already been coming in on my own two-three additional times per week beyond my two scheduled sessions. I know that the only way to get the optimum results from Optifast is to exercise.

Yesterday was also my weigh in day. I was really happy to find that I’d lost three more pounds. I’m almost into the 170s, which seems miraculous to me. It’s been years since I’ve seen those digits on the scale!

Beyond the scale’s reading, I’m noticing so much more. I look and feel so physically changed. My stomach is becoming flat, and my bottom shapelier. My legs have muscular definition and my daughters have told me they want their arms to look like mine. According to them I have “guns.” I’ll flex periodically in their direction to offer them a free “gun show,” just for laughs!

The physical aside, this entire experience is changing my life. I’m rarely just sitting at home alone. I’m always on the move; enjoying the company of people and the beauty of life. The wellness center has been a mecca for meeting new friends. I’m happier, more energetic, and more open to the possibilities that life has to offer.

Last night, my brother asked me if turning 50 has bothered me. Perhaps, a year, or even six months ago, it might have nagged at me. I might have seen it as the beginning of getting older and the ending of some of my potential. His question actually stumped me for a moment, because the idea of being let down by another birthday hadn’t crossed my mind. Turning 50 was a loving and joyous experience for me. My age has no part in the definition or execution of my goals. I pray he’ll feel the same in three years when his half-century mark rolls around.

I hope all of my dear readers are having a beautiful, happy day. I know I’ve said it before, but I can’t emphasize enough how important you all are to me! ❤

 

28 thoughts on “Weight Loss and Life Updates :)”

  1. Hearty hearty Congrats!! You have ‘guns’!! This is a new word to me but I get it. It says it all in a great way! This is a big leap forward. I know the programme is still in place for you to get the best results but to reap the benefits and enjoy rewards of your hard work sounds like a celebration all by itself.

    You are definitely a role model and I wonder how many others are spurred on by your determination and spirit.

    Spring is looking dandy here, we have a few swans going up and down the river (although I hear they can be quite vicious up close so I keep my distance). Do you have nice wildlife in walking distance? You are right, there is so much out there to enjoy!! I love your posts they are always full of fun, vitality and optimism. Here’s to us all putting one step forward and jumping into a great Easter holiday!

    1. Thank you for all of your kind words! 🙂
      Spring is looking great here, too! The sky is blue, my cherry blossom is blooming, and the birds are singing.
      Wildlife isn’t too abundant in my immediate area. However, when I visit my best friend, her home boarders on an apple orchard. I get to see deer and rabbits. Swans are mean and so are geese!! There’s a park about 40 minutes from my house that has a whole lake of them. I used to take my girls there when they were little. A goose hissed in my youngest’s face and scared her when she was little! You have a lovely Easter holiday, too! I’ve gotta pop in the shower! 🙂

      1. Ahh it’s always the way!!! Great you had the chance to enjoy it though. Pink flowers have a special magic, such a soft pretty comforting colour in a bloom!

        I am on the Rooibos tea this morning. Here’s to your Chai!

      2. Thank you! I ended up at Starbucks yesterday with a friend and had a delicious iced green tea with no sugar. It was so good, I think I might have to buy some of their tea.

        You have a wonderful day, my tea buddy!

  2. You are simply awesome my dear friend! I have started to attend boot camp sessions and boy I love them like I hate them :))…lol !
    All the best in your journey and keep those inspirations pouring :).

    1. LOL! I like that “Love them like I hate them!” That’s a great phrase! My gym has also has boot camp sessions, though I’ve never been brave enough to try them. By this time next year, I hope to be ready for them!
      Thank you so much for your kind words! Have a great evening!

      1. It took me 4 years to convince myself that I can do it and actually found a buddy who pushed me into it. Not leaving it now. Another great class I do is Zumba and weight cardio :).

  3. Yay, 3lbs that’s awesome! Well done. You are an inspiration and I’m so glad you mention the other benefits and not just the weight loss. I find they are often what will keep us going on this long road to find ourselves.

    1. Thank you so very much. There are tons of positive latent effects to weight loss! It isn’t just that number on the scale. You feel so much better and more energetic that you just want to get out and have fun. Thank you so much for reading and for your nice comment! 🙂

  4. I could not be more proud of you, nor love you more than I do. Fifty is far better than forty, for our increased wisdom, mellow outlook, and well-adjusted, successful, and finally more interesting offspring….three or so of them, if I recall correctly. I love you–and them–dearly!

    1. I love you so much, too! It never crossed my mind to be worried about turning 50–maybe back when I was 39, or so, it did, but certainly not now. Life is so good–especially with you in it! 🙂

  5. Thank you for sharing your story so far. It has had me laughing and in tears all at the same time. I am about to begin my Optifast journey and your blog has been so moving and inspirational and has really made me take a good look in the mirror at myself and see all the things I need to change in order to succeed. Please keep writing, I look forward to it!

    1. I just started following you. I’m so excited to read about your Optifast experience! The entire program has literally changed my life. Honestly, during your time away from food you’ll find new, positive substitutions that will take the place of overeating. I used to be home most of the time, wallowing in my food addiction, but now, I tend to be on the move most of my day. Blogging and working out have been the best new “addictions” that I’ve adopted. If you’re doing your program through a bariatric office that offers educational classes and counseling, I encourage you to take full advantage of them. I’m seeing life in a whole different light, now. In the beginning you may have some days where you’ll feel hungry, but, trust me, fight through those days and keep going. It’s good for you to see what hunger feels like and realize that it’s not going to harm you and that you can survive it! Within two weeks, you’ll feel satisfied on the Optifast products. Sometimes, I have to remind myself to drink my evening shake. There’s quite a positive psychological effect that goes along with quitting food for a while. I’m so, so glad you commented!! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or for support! It’s wonderful to meet you! 🙂

      1. Yes, I am fortunate to be at a centre that provides weekly classes, homework etc. Reading some of what you shared from yours really makes me look forward to it. Thank you for your support! I know it will be a hard trek but anything that is worth it, isn’t easy. Thank you again for sharing, it is really helpful for someone just starting out.

Comments make me reappear!

