blogging, Building self-confidence, Exercise, Food Addiction, Friday Fixes, learning, losing weight, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program, optifast, setting goals, Tips fot weight loss, weight loss journal, Writing

Friday Fixes–The Late Edition: Enhancing Your Self-Confidence

aaaaDo you believe that you can follow a healthy eating plan?  Do you trust that you can dedicate yourself to maintaining the amount of exercise that your body needs to stay lean and healthy?  If you answered yes to both of these questions, chances are that you have a fairly good level of self-confidence.

Self-confidence is the feeling that you have a sense of control over your actions.  Having self-confidence, and believing that you have the ability to follow a healthy dietary and exercise plan,  is a strong predictor of weight loss success.

Building confidence takes work, however, each positive experience that you have will show you that you’re capable of handling whatever comes your way. If  you feel yourself lacking the confidence that you need to change your eating and activity habits, you may benefit from trying some of these suggestions that I’ve learned in my Lifestyle Education Classes at the bariatric center:

  1. Take care of your needs:  Remember that only you can make yourself happy.  Just as it’s not your job to solve the problems of others, you can’t depend on others to make things happen for you.  Set goals that are based on the things you need to do for yourself and make those goals happen.
  2. Become self-reliant: The more you handle things on your own, the more competent and capable you’ll see that you are. In turn, knowing your capabilities builds confidence.
  3. Recognize your own uniqueness as a person: Begin seeing yourself as special and worthy, because you are! ❤
  4. Love and accept yourself: Be introspective; get to know yourself and why you think, feel and act the way that you do. List all of the things that make you unique and special.  Keep the list somewhere that you can read it frequently, especially if you’re feeling down.
  5. Don’t fight change: To change the way that you feel about eating a healthy diet and exercising, you have to give up your old habits in order to develop new, healthy ones.  Even though change can be difficult, you’ll feel such a sense of pride in yourself when you do make positive changes.  Don’t fight it!  Ride the pride!
  6. Surround yourself with positive people: Positive people build you up and make you feel energized.  I’ve found some wonderfully supportive friends through my classes at the bariatric center, through my gym, and of course, here on WordPress! 🙂
  7. Make a list of positive affirmations and say them to yourself regularly: There’s nothing wrong with talking to yourself every once in a while, especially if you’re saying nice things!  As I work out, I tell myself over and over, “You’re getting healthier and more fit!” Give it a try!!
  8. Imagine your best you: Create an image in your mind of the person that you want to be. Visualize how you want to look and feel.  Then tell yourself that you’ve reached your goal.  Feel how you would if you were that person.
  9. Use good posture and keep a smile on your face: According to my almost doctor daughter, not standing up straight can stimulate the chain of nerves on the sides of the vertebrate which can trigger a sympathetic nervous system response (aka fight or flight) causing feelings of stress in the body. Using good posture makes you feel better, and a winning smile makes you more approachable.

Before I began my weight loss program, my confidence wasn’t the greatest.  My past weight loss failures weighed heavily against my ability to commit to eating right and exercising.  The good news is, that all it took was a spark of hope to start me on my way. That hope was simply my imagining myself healthy and strong, and able to do the things I want to do. With each week of success, my confidence has grown exponentially.  Give these suggestions a try and see how they work for you!  

 

22 thoughts on “Friday Fixes–The Late Edition: Enhancing Your Self-Confidence”

    1. Thanks, Rob! You’re so right. I really am a practitioner of positive affirmations, as is my husband. When I made the quest to end negative self-talk, I began doing this and it really works! 🙂

    1. A great time to think and be introspective could be when you’re hiking. I do a lot of thinking and affirmations while working out. You should also be so proud of yourself for your adventurous hiking ability! 🙂

      1. Thank you! I can’t say I’m very mindful when working out. Sometimes when walking. It’s a great idea to work on for me. Although my hiking up the peaks was very special for me. A great time of wonder, awe and reflection. And just plain appreciation (for a lot of things).

  1. I just love all of this. I think this is going to be the biggest successor for me – self confidence. I really hope the groups and the people I meet help keep me positive and build my self confidence. I’ve always been able to lose the weight. I KNOW how to eat healthy and I KNOW how to work out but I can never make myself keep going after more than a few weeks. I really think I am starting to be more prepared for this and I am going to use this list every day to help me get there 🙂

    1. I hope you meet some really supportive people, too! Just attend every group that your bariatric center offers, and you’re sure to meet some people who have the same goals as you. Also, if your doctor is associated with a hospital, check to see if they have a wellness gym or special programs for weight loss. I meet so many supportive people through the wellness center.
      I’m excited for you to follow this list! Chances are you’ll have a session about this info in one of your groups. I know you can do this, too! If I’m beating a 20 year food addiction, anyone can! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Though I have to give credit to my bariatric center for the wonderful lecture that they gave on self-confidence. This is mostly an expansion of my notes, but I’m following all of these things and they really do work! 🙂 xxxx

  2. Hon, these are great recommendations for anyone trying to accomplish anything at all in life. I agree that confidence alone can carry one through any other aspect of the challenge; it is absolutely necessary and sufficient. One thing I find so endearing about you IS your level of confidence in the face of a challenge.

    Also, I have no doubt that the image you posted is in fact what both of our kitties see in a mirror, every time. If they were larger, we would be…well, “recycled.” Yikes!

    1. Thank you so much, sweetheart. I’m glad my confidence has improved over the years. I think part of it also had to do with the good life that you’ve provided for us. Though my own happiness is up to me, being in a loving, supportive family is like a cherry on the top of my great, big beautiful sundae of life! 🙂 ❤ I love you!

    1. I have to agree with you! I feel so fortunate to know so many wonderful people. My husband always laughs because anytime we go somewhere I always run into someone I know. 🙂 Are you back from your vacation? I’m just working my way through my reader now to see what’s going on with everyone. 🙂

      1. I’m way behind on everything, too. I got halfway through my reader today before being talked into running errands with my oldest daughter.

        We had a blast in NYC! We ended up staying at the museum a good part of the day and then we shopped on 5th Avenue and my daughter got a makeover at Sephora. We sort of let her pick what to do since this little trip was for her. I got a great amount of walking in, which was really enjoyable. You’re so lucky to live there! 🙂
        I hope you really enjoyed your vacation, too!!

Comments make me reappear!

