blogging, dealing with food cravings, emotional eating, enjoying family, Exercise, losing weight, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program, Mindful Eating, optifast

Feeling Good!

Apples are awesomely delicious! :)
Apples are awesomely delicious! 🙂

The mental storms have subsided and after talking to the doctor and dietician yesterday, I’m feeling more stoked about my transition to food. I was assured by my doctor that my fears of returning to my old ways of thinking and eating are pretty standard among her patients. She said she would be more concerned if I wasn’t worried. Her only concern right now is my continually low blood pressure. I’ve been slowly going off of my beta blocker and am down to 12.5 mgs per day. By next week, I should be fully off of it and will be praying to not feel the annoying pre-ventricular contractions that my heart so loves to do! On, or off of, the beta blocker, my heart still does its flip-flops; the beta blocker just aids in masking the feeling, which triggers my anxiety.

The dietician reviewed my food journal, and was pleased with how well I was managing with adding protein and vegetables to my diet. We also went through the rest of the transition plan. This week I’m adding ½ cup, or 60 calories, of fruit to my diet each day. I love apples, so ½ cup of gala apple slices was my first addition. They were delicious! Next week, is the addition of dairy. I have to be careful about that one with my lactose intolerance! After that, I add an additional protein and vegetable, and finally a carbohydrate. By the time I’m finished, I’ll be having only two Optifast products per day and the rest real food. All total, it will be about 1,000-1,100 calories per day with everything.

I think the thing that made me feel the best this week was the loss of another three pounds!! That proves to me that I can eat real food and still lose weight. The formula of portion control and exercise doesn’t fail me. (Thank goodness!) Another amazing thing about exercise is the number of inches that I’m losing. They actually make my body look smaller than the number on the scale reads. Anyone out there trying to lose weight-don’t dismiss the wonderful benefits of physical activity!!

I’m taking a rest from the gym today and staying home to clean my house and get an oil change for my car. My stepson is coming for a visit this weekend and I need to get things in order and go to the grocery store to get his favorite foods. I’ll have a happy, full house this weekend.

I hope everyone has some great adventures planned for their upcoming weekend. Tell me about them in the comments. 🙂

More award posts coming up this weekend!

32 thoughts on “Feeling Good!”

      1. I know! I would hate to waste all of the time, effort and money that I’ve invested in getting healthy, but really think thins time, I’ve got it. Planning and keeping busy is the biggest key for me!.
        I hope you’ve had a lovely day–it’s actually in the 80s here! I’ve been cleaning all day and I have my stepson’s room fully, dusted, scrubbed, and sparkling. When he’s not home, his room tends to be the place we put things that we’re not sure where to put. We did the same thing to my daughter’s room when she was away at school. We’re in desperate need of more space. Now I’m off to the market to get the fixings for lasagna, his favorite and some tofu and fruit for me! 🙂

      2. Sounds like you had a fruitful day yesterday, I hope he enjoyed/enjoys his lasagna 🙂 I think you’ve learnt so much through this process and gained so much confidence, that that will carry you through. And if nothing else, just think, if I over eat, I will be uncomfortable and unhappy and is it really worth it?? You can do this, superstar xx

  1. Great news! It’s always nice when those fears are dispelled, especially from a professional. Enjoy your full house this weekend, and rest easy! Better times are surely ahead.

    1. Thanks, Rob! I’m eager for the weekend so we can all relax together. I’m glad to know my fears are normal. Have a great weekend and don’t forget to remind the kids to spoil your wife on Mother’s Day! 🙂

  2. Congrats on three pounds! That’s gotta feel good. My plans this weekend are to visit with a group of friends, four couples. We are having a potluck dinner Saturday to plan some fun things to do together during the summer. Then Mother’s Day dinner with my kids. Have a great weekend visiting.

  3. And you thought it was going to be “zero” pounds lost this week! Your good, new habits and good new choices carry the day!!!

    I love you, hon!

    1. I ALWAYS think it’s going to be zero pounds! Prepare for the worst, but hope for the best, I always say! Actually, I think I have a pretty good formula of exercise and caloric intake going on. I’m just thankful that my body is responding as it should. I love you too!

    1. That sounds like a really nice brunch! It’s always good to see the guys in the kitchen! 🙂 Thank you! I am in it to win it–especially since the prize is a better, healthier life! 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day to you!

Comments make me reappear!

