blogging, enjoying family, losing weight, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program, weight loss journal, Wellness Center, Writing

A Crazy Week!

This is my brain on busy!!  (Fractal art by me!)
This is my brain on busy!!
(Fractal art by me!)

Today is weigh-in and though I’ve been following all of my eating rules, my normal exercise routine has managed to elude me this week.  Though I’ve made sure to do some lap walking in my neighborhood, to the tune of about 2.5 miles per day, this is nothing compared to my usual, high intensity, calorie burning workouts at the gym.  Sometimes the business of life just gets in the way of our personal plans, and that’s okay.  It doesn’t mean I’m giving up.

Being a mom often means being a source of moral support, and I’ve certainly spent a majority of my week being my eldest’s sounding board as she’s navigating a tough surgical rotation.  This has meant many late nights and very tired mornings. I’m running so far behind this morning that my workout might have to be after my weigh-in.  I’m not expecting a huge loss, especially after the daily addition of a fruit serving, but that’s alright.  I’m certain I haven’t made any gains.

My husband and I are getting ready to go on a two-week vacation.  The first week we’ll be visiting my father-in-law. (Luckily, he lives in Hilton Head–which is beautiful.)  The second week we’ll be heading to our normal spot in the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  This will be the third year that my hubby and I have vacationed without the kids.  I always have a great time when the entire family is present, but having alone time with my husband is certainly needed and appreciated.

I’ve research the gyms in both areas and am taking ample workout clothing and equipment with me.  I’ll have access to a pool and my own kitchen in both of the places that we’re staying, so I know I’ll be alright.  I’m also bringing my computer and camera, and have high hopes to do some blogging by the sea.

I hope everyone is having a fantastic week!  I’ll update my weight loss results shortly! 🙂

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “A Crazy Week!”

  1. Bless your heart. You are such a good mother! I know how complicated life can become and how hard it can be to fit in exercise. Good luck at the weigh-in and have an awesome vacation. You deserve it!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Awww, thank you so much! I certainly try to be the best mom I can. Transitioning into a demanding career is difficult–especially since my daughter’s #1 goal is to be a family doctor, not a surgeon. However, learning all about surgery is part of her training. She actually enjoys the patients and being in the OR. It’s just the 20 hour days and the “It’s a man’s world” attitude that she’s dealing with from a rather chauvinistic preceptor that she’s dealing with that’s making it tough. It’s hard to feel like you’re making progress when the doctor you’re working with thinks you should be home making casseroles instead of removing gall bladders! 🙂 Thanks for the luck! I’m needing all I can get! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a vacation will be appreciated after a crazy week 🙂 I’ve never been to North Carolina, so I look forward to hear any vacation reports.

    1. The first week I’ll be in Hilton Head, SC visiting my father-in-law and then we’ll be heading to the Outer Banks for a week–just the two of us! 🙂 I thought you were in NC! Thank you! 🙂

      1. I’m sorry. 🙂 Yes, the Outer Banks is a long thin set of barrier islands that jut off of the NC coast. There are several small towns there; Corolla, Duck, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo–and a few more. We’re staying in Kill Devil Hills. The entire area is really nice. I’ve been going there since I was a little kid. 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

