blogging, enjoying family, food and family celebrations, Girl's Night Out, Having fun, Maintaining Weight Loss, optifast, Uncategorized, Writing

Girl’s Night Out; Optifast Style!

 

Not us, but close!  I haven't loaded my pics yet!  (Photo by Alamy)
Not us, but close! I haven’t loaded my pics yet! (Photo by Alamy)

One thing I’ve been avoiding during my stint on Optifast has been going out.  This has been especially difficult considering the fact that my best friend and her partner own an event house that hosts many wonderful monthly activities.  Friday night was their first “Girls Night Out,” an occasion featuring summer cocktail and hors d’ oeuvres tutorials from their Iron Chef, a photo booth with props, and a slammin’ DJ playing all the latest hits. Since this was the brainchild of my bestie, she was really worried about it being a success.

My oldest and I got there early and were honored to be her guests for the night. As the doors opened at 6:30 my friend’s fears were quickly dispelled.  The house was at full capacity in no time. Normally, the thought of crispy, sweet and savory appetizers and fruity drinks would be the main focus of my evening, however, I’d prepared myself. Before arriving, I’d had a lovely salad and a veggie burger to fill me up, but I’d also reserved the calories of one shake and a fruit and vegetable serving for my evening out.  This worked out perfectly, and allowed me to sample a few healthy, bite-sized fruit, vegetable, and protein hors d’ oeuvres without feeling guilty. Though there were some amazing cocktails served, my friend made sure that there were plenty of frosty carafes of ice water available to me and other non-drinking guests.

Besides several hours of incredibly awesome, calorie-burning dancing, a very special part of the evening was the connections that we made with other women.  Even we extroverts often have difficulty in meeting new people and making new friends due to our particular stations in life.  It was lovely to meet other women my age, younger, and older who were eager to get out for a bit and make connections.

My daughter and I met a wonderfully interesting woman who has spent her life as an international healthcare provider.  Though most of her career has been spent in African countries, she’s now helping children in the US.  She was the awesomely energetic, fit type who could tear up the dance floor at 70 years of age with moves just as savvy as any 20 something hottie.  I truly want to be like her when I’m 70!  We’ve already made plans to sit together at the next event.

Aside from seeing that I can easily attend a social function that includes creatively fun finger foods and seasonal cocktails, without going calorically wild, I also realized how much we girls need to get out of the house every once in a while and let our hair down.

 

Tell me girls, and guys, do you get out enough?  Do you feel like you make enough meaningful connections with people of your own gender?  Do you have any great girls, or guys, night out activity ideas?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Girl’s Night Out; Optifast Style!”

  1. This sounds like an amazing night, well done to your friend for organising it. I’m glad you had a great time and you are so right some of us don’t get out enough. I tend to hide away from social activity when I’m trying to get to grips with myself and my issues but I know that the company of others is something therapy in itself.

    1. It was really fun! My friend is very detail oriented. She had a TBI over two years ago, and tends to doubt her abilities, but she does an awesome job with planning and none of her worries about that night were true.
      Hanging out with others is great therapy! Now that I’ve gone through 18 weeks of Optifast, I feel more confident in social situations when it comes to resisting food and drink.

  2. I’ve not gotten out much recently, but have taken two short trips to Disneyland the last few days. I was a little nervous about facing all the food like substances there, so newly returned to Whole30 … but I did and felt great!

    1. Disneyland sounds wonderful! Did Li’l D go with you? I’m not sure what Whole 30 is; I’ll have to look that up. From your recent pics, I think you look wonderful! 🙂 I’m glad you were able to get out and have some fun during such a busy and demanding time! 🙂

  3. Three cheers to letting our hair down! So good for body mind and spirit! (I’m no expert but it feels that way!). Bravo to your friend too. I think it is brave to put yourself on the line and organise ‘do’s because always you hope a crowd will show up – fingers crossed. So thrilled to hear this was a hit. I wish something like this went on locally to my region in UK. To encompass all ages of women and offer an evening of fun is just the ticket. Glad you had a great time ;-D

    I’m enjoying scorching heat on the patio today. Knowing UK weather it will probably be rain next week so I’m grabbing the rays while I can, with a cup of green tea! Cheers!

    1. It really is good for the mind body and spirit to get out for the evening. I wish you had something like this in your area, too. 🙂 I hope the weather held up for you to enjoy plenty of cups of green tea on the patio! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

