blogging, Exercise, Food Addiction, food and family celebrations, optifast, weight loss journal

Disappearing While on the Road

 

Early Monday morning, my adorable hubby and I left the great state of West Virginia to visit my father-in-law in Hilton Head, South Carolina. This is where we’re spending the first week of our two-week holiday.  We decided to split our drive into two days, so we wouldn’t be so exhausted when we arrived.

I’d prepared myself fully for a very different kind of vacation. Though most of our trip will be full of wonderful adventures, a part of it will be filled with some very sad tasks.  The saddest being to clean out my mother-in-law’s closets and donate her clothing and some of her other items to charity. She passed away in October 2013 and visiting my in-law’s home isn’t the same without her welcoming presence in it. The other thing I’ve been prepping for is sticking with my exercise and meal plan while on vacation.  These past three days have been a little hard, but I’m doing it!

Vacation for my husband and I is usually a full-blown food-fest with us eating out for every meal, and snacking heavily in between.  Exercise has never been an element of vacation for us.  However, this trip is completely different from any we’ve had before. While on our way, we walked laps at every rest stop we visited. We spent Monday night in a lovely Hilton in Columbia, SC and took full advantage of their fitness room and pool.  Though the outdoor pool at our current hotel isn’t open, it does have a fitness room, and we’ve been mightily busy helping out at my father-in-laws.  My mother-in-law was an amazing gardener and created such beautiful landscaping in their yard.  Today, my husband and I spent the day weeding all of her flower and ornamental beds; and boy, are we tired! It was a perfect activity for feeling close to her.  Kneeling where we knew she’d knelt to artistically place each plant was a cathartic experience, and one that we know she’d appreciate.

Meal time is definitely a change for us!  I’ve packed my shakes, and soon as we arrived I hit the grocery store for veggie burgers, fruit, salad items, and plain Greek yogurt.  I’m a cheap date on this trip, as we’ve only eaten out twice and both times I had a small grilled chicken breast and a tossed salad with no dressing. We are going to get seafood one evening, because I can have fish and crab meat, which I dearly love. Today, I made a huge lasagna for my father-in-law and husband.  I packaged 10 containers of leftovers and popped them in the freezer for him to have once we’re gone.

Tomorrow, we’re going to do some cleaning out of things at my father-in-law’s house and I’m going to make his requested meal of meatloaf, baked yams and broccoli. (I’ll freeze those leftovers for him, as well).

We did go to the beach yesterday evening for a short walk, but the parking is so difficult to find here, that may be our only beach time this week. Saturday, we’ll be heading to the Outer Banks for a much more romantic getaway!

I miss all of my readers, and I hope you’re all having a wonderful week!  I hope to feel more creative next week, for now I just feel tired from the 90 degree heat, but very happy to be here helping out! 🙂

14 thoughts on “Disappearing While on the Road”

  1. What the…hey–HEY! I helped make that lasagna. In fact, I was a HUGE help. Yeah…just remember, there’s no “me” in “Human Centipede,” okay?

    Seriously, thank you for everything today, and everyday of our life together. I love you!

    1. Wait, you’re right! You did help with that lasagna and I have no idea WHY I took full credit for it! Perhaps, the heat has made me wonky!!
      You’ve never watched the Human Centipede and you know it! That’s one of the reasons I married you!
      I love you, too, but be warned, if you help with dinner tomorrow, I will attempt to take full credit! ❤

    1. I’m trying! 🙂 Luckily, I’m not as surrounded by temptation since we’re doing most of our cooking at my father-in-law’s house rather than eating out. I hope you’re having a great, healthy week, too! 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing your vacation news, it sounds like a trip full of so many emotions. All of the activity and food planning sounds perfect, you can enjoy your holiday without guilt by the sound of it xxx

    1. You’re welcome, I’ve missed all of you! Today we’re going to clean out my mother-in-law’s closets. I’m worried about my father-in-law and hubby during this, so I plan to do the bulk of it. My father-in-law has done a beautiful job of keeping the house sparkling clean, just as my MIL would have. He also has a very well stocked pantry, too, so that’s a good sign. Taking care of a parent 13 hours away is rough–we can’t move down here with my husband so close to retirement and he refuses to move up north. Luckily, he’s still physically and mentally sharp–just very depressed without a desire to get help. Next week will be much more fun at rental condo right on the ocean. 🙂 Hope you’re doing well and having a very nice week! 🙂

      1. I was thinking about you and your trip today: considering you’re on vacation, it’s an emotional time and you’re cooking up a storm for your father in law, you are dodging a lot of landmines this week and doing brilliantly! What a star you are xx

      2. Thank you! Next week will certainly be a bit more relaxing, but I’m happy to be able to help. My father-in-law is very appreciative. so it’s been a good time. 🙂 xx

    1. Thank you much, Jenny! We slept in this morning and are going to take our time preparing for the day. I thought I was in pretty good shape, but hours of squatting, bending and kneeling yesterday has left me stiff and sore. I think I’m afraid to not exercise discipline–and that’s what keeps me good. Thank you for your kind words and have a beautiful rest of the week! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

