blogging, dealing with food cravings, emotional eating, Exercise, Food Addiction, losing weight, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program, optifast, weight loss journal, Writing

Wednesday Weigh-in Woes

This little fellow has absolutely nothing to do with this post.  He hopped up in front of me last week!  Luckily, my camera was on.  (Photo by me)
This little fellow has absolutely nothing to do with this post. He hopped up in front of me last week! Luckily, my camera was on. (Photo by me)

Well, tomorrow afternoon is weigh-in and I’d be fibbing if I didn’t admit to being a little worried.  After two weeks of vacation, and being off of my regular eating and exercise schedule, I’m pretty certain that I won’t be experiencing a major weight loss this week. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if I haven’t gained a pound or two.  Though I did tons of walking and swimming during my time away, I didn’t do the intensive exercise that I normally do at the gym.  I also ate a few regular meals, put non-dairy creamer in my coffee a few times, and had fat-free, sugar free frozen yogurt twice.  I know these aren’t the worst of eating offenses, but knowing my flawless capacity to gain weight, I wouldn’t be surprised to see a higher number on the scale.

So, what happens if I have gained weight for the first time since December?  My old method of operation would be to say, “What the hell,” immediately give up my weight loss goals, and break open a bag of chips.  I’ve never once started on a diet decline that ended well.  Once I’ve gained a little, I’ve usually gone on to gain a lot more back.  I can’t let that happen to me this time.  I have too much invested physically, emotionally, and financially.

Transition from my Optifast shakes to regular food hasn’t been easy and my two weeks away, without monitoring and motivation from my doctor, dietician and trainer, has made me lose a little bit of my vigor with my weight loss program.  Drinking the shakes was easy.  I didn’t have to make choices, or control my portions.  Now that I’m eating real food, some of my issues with food addiction are returning.  I’m experiencing constant cravings, and find myself thinking about when and what I’m going to be eating next way more than I should be. Though I’m back on track with my meal plan, I still have a feeling of being out of control. I’m happy that I’ll be meeting with my doctor and dietician tomorrow because I certainly plan to share my concerns with them. I also plan on making a one-on-one appointment with my trainer for some extra motivation.  Now isn’t the time to keep quiet and ruin the progress that I’ve made. I want to be fit, healthy, and feeling good.

I’ll let everyone know how things go tomorrow!  I’d better get to bed! 🙂

  

 

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh-in Woes”

    1. Thank you, Cynthia. 🙂 I’m certainly trying to be as proactive as possible. I’m also having some rough peri-menopausal symptoms that are making things rather tough. I need to stop putting off seeing my doctor about that. The main thing for me is to not give up. 🙂

      1. You cannot give up. You’re probably in the toughest time for trying to lose weight due to all the mental and physical things going on. That’s when I gained actually. Now that I am post-menopausal, I don’t have to deal with all that, but the weight does not respond well to the efforts to lose it! I hope a trip to the doctor can help you 🙂

  1. I hope that the weigh in goes okay, and better than you hope. As for your returning food feelings, I think it’s all natural, but I’m so happy that you have all of that support to work through everything with xx

    1. Me too! That’s the difference between this time and all of the other times that I’ve lost weight. I have so many people on board with me that it’s very difficult to fail! Thank you for your support! 🙂

  2. There’s always that post vacation lag that happens. I bet that once you settle back into a routine, you’ll find that the time away had given renewed energy, regardless of what the weigh-in brings.

Comments make me reappear!

