blogging, cats, Uncategorized

A Tail of Two Kitties

I’m sure my title’s been used a million times, but I thought Sunday would be an appropriate time to share the two fluffy, quirky, shedding, seat-stealing loves of my life with you.

This good-looking girl is Sophie.  I first met her when a handful of students ran my way on the playground, excitedly insisting that there was a snake in the grass by the fence.  That “snake”  was a very tiny kitten who had been scraped up by a lawn mower.  A quick run home during my planning period to get my cat carrier, and a night spent at our vet for fluids revealed only superficial wounds.  Twelve years later, she’s top cat of our household.  She certainly lets us know if things aren’t going her way!

What?  You'd like your desk chair back?  Perhaps you need to redefine "your."
What? You’d like your desk chair back? Perhaps you need to redefine “your.”
No, I won't move so you can do your silly ritual of making the bed. The wrinkly quilt feels fine to me!
No, I won’t move so you can do your silly ritual of making the bed. The wrinkly quilt feels fine to me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ahh, your lap is the warmest, comfiest on in the house.  Oh, you have to pee?  Did I mention how warm I think your lap is?
Ahh, your lap is the warmest, comfiest on in the house. Oh, you have to pee? Did I mention how warm I think your lap is?

 

 

This dashing young gentleman is Porchie.  He’s a transplant from my daughter’s first two years away at medical school.  He was a stray, who hung out on her porch (mostly because she gave him plenty of wet food).  Eventually, one day he wandered into her apartment and decided to stay.  We find his kittenish antics endlessly entertaining and are hinting that we’d like for him to stay after my daughter and her husband move into a new home.  I hope you enjoy a glimpse into the lives of my two special furbabies today!  Happy Sunday!!

I'll gladly play dress up if they insist.  After all, they do keep the chow dish nice and full!
I’ll gladly play dress up if they insist. After all, they do keep the chow dish nice and full!
I'm sometimes nicknamed "The Count" because of my distinctive smile.
I’m sometimes nicknamed “The Count” because of my distinctive smile.
Yes, I specialize in being cute!
Yes, I specialize in being cute!
20 thoughts on “A Tail of Two Kitties”

      1. My blog is often about my fitness and nutrition quests, mixed with life events. I do include pics of my kitties in my posts from time to time. I just checked out and followed your blog. I’m very much a fellow cat lover and am always happy meet others who are, too! 🙂

  1. Adorable! Sophie looks so much like my cat Rosie (I got her from the RSPCA as a 3 year old last year in May for Mother’s Day).

    1. Thank you!! 🙂 Sophie is a dream cat! She’s super affectionate and has a constant, loud purr and million head bonks to offer. Her only funny quirk is her extreme stubbornness. Once she’s planted herself somewhere, she defies you to move her! I swear she has a meow then that sounds just like she’s saying “Nooooooo!”
      I’ll bet Rosie is a real doll! Tabbies are always such sweet, well-rounded kitties!
      Thank you for visiting and commenting! 🙂

      1. You’re very welcome :). I often read posts but forget to comment, so I thought I would do that more! Rosie is exactly the same; once she parks herself somewhere (usually on my leg, chest or next to me on a blanket), she is very put out when moved. I’ll see if there’s some way I can post a pic of her here or otherwise I will post it on my blog an send you the link 🙂

    1. Thank you! Mine are great for photo ops! Sophie spends the majority of her day sleeping, but Porchie is only 5 or 6 and is still very crazy.
      Aw, your poor sweet kitties. I’ll bet they enjoy your love and care.:)

Comments make me reappear!

