blogging, Exercise, vacations, Writing

My Happy Place is the Beach

00happyplaceWhere’s that place you go to in your head when you’re bored, can’t sleep, feel stressed, or just need a mental vacation?  My happy place is  most definitely the beach.  It’s not just the salty air, the roar of the waves, or the surf and sand on my feet that makes me crave the shore.  It’s the entire experience of being in a coastal town.  I love the architecture, the décor, the casual clothing, the seafood, the artsy shops, and the locals, but most of all, I love the attitude of relaxation that seems to exist in a town by the sea.

Here in about six or seven years, my husband and I will be able to fulfill our goal of moving to the Outer Banks.  In the meantime, I have lots of other goals to complete here in my waveless, sandless little corner of the world. That doesn’t mean that I can’t have lots of reminders of my favorite place surrounding me.  Last night, I decided to do a little blog redecoration.  I decided that my “Cakes” header is entirely counterproductive as I strive to lose a few more pounds and maintain a healthy weight.  I thought my online space needed a little touch of shore life, too.  I took the header picture in Kill Devil Hills, NC and the mermaids in the background certainly seem to disappearing!

Speaking of disappearing—it’s time for me to head to the gym! 🙂

Have a great day, everyone!!

Where’s your happy place? 

 

22 thoughts on “My Happy Place is the Beach”

  1. I love the ocean. In the daytime, I love to swim in the salt water and in the evening, I love to hear the roar of the ocean with a gentle breeze engulfing me. Nothing says relaxation quite like a day at the beach. 🙂

      1. I’m about 20 miles inland. I grew up about 1,000 feet from the shore. It’s quite an adjustment to make (moving a bit inland). Those walks on the shore at the end of the day are sorely missed.

  2. I love your new look! I’m in the middle of the country 30 miles from Lake Michigan. Not quite the same as a coast. I do live on a lake/river system but that’s not the same either (no beach to speak of). I love any kind of water, the wildlife nearby and the plants and trees near the water. I love slowly cruising on our pontoon boat and looking at the houses on the shore. Seeing the different styles and how people have landscaped and decorated their yards, which is usually more interesting than non-water homes.

    1. Oh, Cynthia–my dad had a pontoon boat and I absolutely loved going out on the river on it. Your area sounds really nice. I agree that any type of water is just wonderful to be near. Thank you for your kind words about my new blog décor!

    1. Oh, thank you so very much!! I certainly will check out your nominations. I really appreciate it!

      What beach are you going to? The beach is such a great place for walking and exercise. I feel like I wouldn’t even have to plan my workouts if I live there–I’d spend hours everyday just swimming and walking! Have lots of fun on your trip! 🙂

      1. No problem! 🙂 I’ll be on the Gulf of Mexico side! I wish I could be close enough to go everyday, it’s about a few hour drive for me, so once in a while will have to do. Thanks! 🙂

      1. You’re welcome! No time limit of course – just when you feel like it and have the time 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

