blogging, Exercise, problem solving, weight loss journal, Wellness Center, Writing

Zen and the Art of Octane Acquisition

Oh, glorious Octane, coveted above all other machines, I praise and glorify your calorie burning abilities!
Oh, glorious Octane, coveted above all other machines, I praise and glorify your calorie burning abilities!

I’ve written previously of my love for the Octane machine at the gym. (Who wouldn’t love a machine that can burn a day’s worth of calories in an hour?)  I’ve also mentioned a time, or two, that it is the most coveted machine in all of

the Wellness Center kingdom. I’ve, additionally, written about “Grumpy Guy,” who likens himself Prince Joffrey* from the realm of Octane.  Every, single, freakin’ time I hit the gym “Joffrey” and his band of merry Octane hogs seem to be occupying my favorite machine.

Yesterday, I tried a brand new technique.  Instead of worrying and having a dumpy, yet aggressive, disposition about getting “my” Octane, I tried to concentrate on the other machines and exercises that I could do if they were occupied.  I could use the treadmill, the elliptical, or I could simply run the track.

When I walked past the floor to the locker room,  all of the Octanes were being used,

The Octane that you seek will forever be mine!!
The Octane that you seek will forever be mine!!

as I’d imagined.  However, I kept my chill attitude.  It was no big deal, there were other things I could do.  I changed into my workout gear, strapped on my iPod and found my favorite play list.  I took my time putting my gym bag and street clothes away, and then sauntered out to the floor.  Low and behold, there was an empty Octane just waiting for me

Keeping my cool worked for acquiring my favorite machine.  I don’t know why I didn’t think of this earlier!

We don't acquire the Octane.  The Octane acquires us.
We don’t acquire the Octane. The Octane acquires us.

 

*This is a Game of Thrones reference.  I watched two episodes with my husband yesterday.  I seem to be the only person on the planet who doesn’t love it.

Happiest of Sundays, everyone! 🙂

20 thoughts on “Zen and the Art of Octane Acquisition”

  1. I used to go the gym, but not having the machines I liked..in my time also annoyed me. I can’t believe you don’t like GOT, you have to watch a few more, I wasn’t captured till a little further in…give it another try, you won’t regret it.

    1. I’m seven episodes in and I’ll take your advice and keep watching. My oldest daughter and husband are crazy about it, so I need to find a way to start liking it since we only have one TV! 🙂
      Hope you’ve been doing well! 🙂 Good to hear from you!

  2. Well, I’ve never seen Game of Thrones yet. I even got HBO just so I could watch the show Boardwalk Empire, only for it to have a terrible season. So now I still am paying for the HBO and we never, ever watch it (dumb, like I have money to throw around). But I did watch True Detective for the few weeks it was on and loved it. One of these days, maybe I’ll check out Game of Thrones, but I appreciate your negative review when all I hear is how great it is. I don’t tend to agree with the masses lol.

    1. I sure agree with you about last season’s Boardwalk Empire–it was a disappointment. Hopefully, this last season coming up will be much better.
      I’m one of those rare people who can’t get into Game of Thrones. Granted, I’ve only watched seven episodes of the first season. I just don’t care for all of the violence, or the gratuitous sex. Maybe it’ll get better.
      I’ve heard really good things about True Detective and I may give that first season a go. (Maybe I can get my husband hooked on that!) 🙂

  3. I also don’t watch Game of Thrones…he he

    I have never seen this Octane machine before! Looks very interesting!! I am glad you managed to find one. lol @ keeping your cool. I can imagine trying not to sprint to it. looking around for somebody that has also been eyeing it. ha ha.

    I don’t miss that about the gym days…I think I spent more time waiting for machines than actually working out.

    1. Admittedly, I have sprinted to it in the past while looking for others eying it up!

      Luckily, my gym is well-stocked with other machines and the track and pool are always available. I’m sure they’ll get more Octanes eventually, since they’re so popular. 🙂

  4. Well, I must be one of the few who know jack about GOT. i mean I hear about it but I get it mixed up with the one with the girl and the bow and arrow – or is that the same franchise?! 😯

Comments make me reappear!

