blogging, Crafting to lose weight, enjoying family, Maintaining Weight Loss, Medical Weight Loss Program

Hanging Out, Crafting, and the Stubborn Final 10

Somehow I manage to keep busy when not much is going on.  (Photo taken by me at Jockey's Ridge State Park)
Somehow I manage to keep busy when not much is going on. (Photo taken by me at Jockey’s Ridge State Park)

Hi all!  I’ve been super occupied this past week and haven’t been doing much blogging.  My oldest daughter has this week and the next off from school, and we’ve been having a wonderful time hanging out together. We’ve been going to the gym, swimming, and planning my youngest daughter’s super, fantastic, disco birthday party on Friday.  (I can’t say too much about it since I know my youngest reads my blog!)

I’ve also been doing a great deal of crafting, and after some urging from friends and family, I’ve decided to try my hand at some craft shows.  My awesome younger daughter has already designed a logo for my bags, labels, and business cards.  (I’ll post some pics later; I need to take some first!)

In weight loss news, I think I’ve finally hit a plateau.  I weighed myself today at the gym and I weigh only a few ounces less than I did last Wednesday.  This is frustrating because I’ve really upped my workouts.  Hopefully, it’s because I’ve replaced some of my fat with muscle mass. I’m actually pretty happy with the size I am now. I’m wearing size 10 pants and either a large or extra large top (because of my chest). My arms and legs are more toned than they’ve been since I was in my 20s!  Lately, I’ve really been focusing on my core strength and am beginning to see some definition in my upper abs. My lower abs might be a lost cause after two kids!  The doctor would like to see me drop 10 more pounds in order for my BMI to be in a normal weight range.  I’m following everything she and my trainer tell me to do. I guess it’s not a myth that the last 10 pounds are the hardest!

Hope everyone is doing well and enjoying the gorgeous summer weather!

Any thoughts on how to get these stubborn last 10 pounds gone?

12 thoughts on “Hanging Out, Crafting, and the Stubborn Final 10”

  1. Go you!! Look forward to the pics of your logo!
    And congrats on the weightloss! We went to a talk once with a weight loss expert and he said EVERYONE hits a plateau and as long as you ride it, you will get to your goal! Apparently this is the point where people start losing momentum and give up. So hang in there, you are going great 🙂 The body naturally wants to hold onto ‘reserves’ because it can’t distinguish between intentional weight loss and unintentional weight loss!
    Also have read that stress and worry can increase cortisol levels which alerts the body to hang onto ‘fat stores’ as it feels it could be under threat.
    Good luck at weight loss and your craft fair 🙂

    1. Thank you for the good advice. I’m doing just as you’ve said; keeping at it with my exercise and healthy eating. I know it will eventually come off. If it doesn’t, I’m happy with the size I am. It’s so much healthier than where I was seven months ago!

  2. I’d love to hear more about your crafting and the show you go to! Congrats on taking that big step forward! Good luck on the last ten pounds. Just keep exercising and eating. I’ve always heard that if you’ve plateaued, you should change something. I don’t know what exactly that means, I guess different food/exercise, more or less. I’ve plateaued now, but it’s my own doing, I’m not always eating right.

    1. Thank you Cynthia! I’ve tried to switch up my routine for the past week. I met with my trainer last Thursday and she changed my cardio and increased my strength training. I’m still doing 1000 calories per day as recommended by the doctor, but my trainer has said that she thinks I need more calories to boost my metabolism. I’m just going to stick with what I’m doing and I’m sure eventually it’ll come off. They do say that slow weight loss lasts, so that’s a good thing.

      I’m so impressed by your marathons and running. I can still only manage a half mile of running. My ankles just can’t take much more. 🙂

    1. I am, too. I’ll post some pictures as soon as I remember to get batteries for my camera. Every time I run to town I forget them, and someone’s been raiding my battery stash for their Wii controllers! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

