blogging, Daily Prompt, Exercise, weight loss journal, Writing

Can’t Turn Down this Prompt For What

Today’s Daily Prompt made me smile: We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

A certain song has been in my head for months.  This chronic ear worm is the first song on my workout playlist, and a song that even my husband can’t deny shaking his cute little booty to.  This wondrous little ditty is none other than DJ Snake & Lil’ Jon’s Turn Down for What. Here’s the music video, though knowing VEVO you’ll probably be redirected to YouTube to view it.

The lyrics are especially enlightening and must have taken literally minutes to come up with:

Fire up your loud
Another round of shots

Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what

Fire up your loud
Another round of shots

Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what

Fire up your loud
‘nother round of shots
Fire up your loud
‘nother round of shots
Fire up your loud
‘nother round of shots
Fire up your loud
‘nother round of shots

Turn down for what
Turn down for what
Turn down for what

(Lyrics courtesy of Metro Lyrics)

My attraction to this song is definitely its mad beat that’s perfect for firing me up during a workout.  In fact, I feel like I owe DJ Snake & Lil’ Jon a debt of gratitude for at least 10% of the weight I’ve lost over these past seven months.

The biggest mystery to me was the meaning of this delightful tune, so I conducted a Google search and was pleasantly surprised that uncovering this mystery was as simple as clicking on an Urban Dictionary link. I’d like to thank the formerly unknown Blair Waldourf for volunteering this riveting definition of the phrase Turn Down for What:

“rhetorical question used by teenagers. “turn up” is the act of getting drunk and high and being reckless so “turn down” would mean sobering up. turn down for what is really saying i am fucked up and will continue to be all night no matter what. the only appropriate answer to this question would be “nothing”

Johnny: turn down for what ?!
Ben: The cops and my dad.
Johnny: You’re a pussy! TURN DOWN FOR NOTHING
by Blair Waldourf October 14, 2013

Since I’m fairly straight-edged and have maybe a few glasses of wine per year and do zero drugs (other than my prescribed asthma meds) the meaning behind the song is rather lost on me.  However, this song wins as my Summer 2014 anthem and the song I’ll most remember during my weight loss. Because of this, I’ve given Turn Down for What  my own meaning.  When I’m listening to it during a workout, its beat tells me to keep going, to not give up–no matter how loudly my muscles are screaming for a break. So come on blogging buddies “Fire up your loud, ‘nother round of shots!” Let’s get moving!!

What song gets you pumped up and ready to work out?

 

11 thoughts on “Can’t Turn Down this Prompt For What”

  1. Heh. My kids love this song and they think it is a response to being told to turn down the music. I have to admit that it is indeed a very infectious song and I enjoy it too. I should add it to my running playlist!

    My favorite workout song is probably “Eat the Rich” by Aerosmith. Besides its irreverent humor, I really like the driving beat. In fact, most of the songs on their Pump album have a good solid beat to it.

    I loved your assessment that you need to credit this artist with your weight loss. That’s awesome. 🙂

    1. Aw, thank you! Glad to hear someone else is enjoying this song as much as I do!
      I love “Eat the Rich,” too! Aerosmith was the first band that I ever saw in concert (at the ripe ol’ age of 23!). They’re wonderful! Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  2. Super cool song!! Fast and furious. I love the energy. Thanks for sharing this. I need to listen to more music. This is great to bop along to in the garden. We’re having a bit of a heatwave here so any excuse to be outside is good! Happy days.

    1. We just finished with a heatwave and are having a day in the 60s today. I actually have a sweatshirt on!

      This is a fun song and a fantastic one to work out to!
      Enjoy your time outdoors! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

