beach, blogging, Exercise, losing weight, Maintaining Weight Loss, weight loss journal

A New Look & A Little Bit of Relaxation

 

0relaxAs promised, I’ve made a few changes to my blog, although the one big change that I need to make is to actually get back to writing more!  I’ve had the time, I just haven’t felt much like writing. I’m back to having some of the same health issues that I blogged about a few months ago.  I have a doctor’s appointment with labs on Friday and I’m hoping that I’m not on the fast-track to a hysterectomy.  Like most people, I’m not a fan of being in the hospital and I fear the down time from exercise will cause me to gain back some of my weight.

On to much more pleasant matters…  Yesterday, I went with my best friend to a class on conscious relaxation and stress management.  It was held at a nearby university, but was sponsored by a local wellness facility.  We did several relaxation activities that included progressive relaxation and guided imagery.  Usually, when I do guided imagery, my “go-to” image is me relaxing on the beach.  Yesterday, I still chose the warm, sandy beach as my relaxation spot, but instead of lounging, I imagined myself effortlessly running as the sea breeze whipped against my face and through my hair.  It’s interesting that I’ve changed my concept of what’s relaxing.

I did learn two facts about stress relief that I wasn’t aware of.  Some of you may already know these! 🙂  The first, is that sleep is not nearly as much of a stress reliever as conscious (meaning while we’re awake) relaxation.  Who would have thought that being securely snuggled down in my cuddly bed, snoozing away, isn’t REALLY relieving my stress as much as meditation, progressive muscle relation, or guided imagery?  The second fact is that we can’t relieve stress passively.  So, when you get home from work at the end of a rough day and just want to unwind in front of the television, physiologically, it’s not doing much for you in terms of stress relief.  Active engagement is required for true relaxation.  Participating in a favorite hobby, exercising, or using conscious relaxation techniques are much more soothing choices.

I have a weigh-in appointment today with my bariatric doctor.  This will be my first weigh-in since I’ve been on maintenance.  My doctor told me that adding the extra calories will cause me to gain back a few pounds before my weight levels off, so I’m eager to see where I’m at.  The gym scale is showing 137, only a one pound increase, so I hope the doc’s scale says the same!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful week!  My hubby and future son-in-law have promised to create my new header soon, so more changes in my blog’s look are to come.

 

What’s your favorite way to actively relax?

 

17 thoughts on “A New Look & A Little Bit of Relaxation”

    1. There are lots of good You Tube videos, as well as phone apps that have great tutorials for meditation, progressive relaxation, and guided imagery. I have a few past posts on these topics, as well. I’m getting ready to head out my door right now, but I’ll find some links for you when I’m back home. 🙂
      My oldest daughter is a medical student and is often very stressed. She uses a guided imagery app for falling to sleep each night and it’s really improved her natural anxiety. I’m sure this would help your son, too! 🙂

  1. This looks great, and your new approach is a winner as well. Meditation is something I keep meaning to get around to (setting aside the moment and DOING IT is another thing altogether though…).

    Your blog just gets better and better….this is a great new path to take, and I look forward to every moment of it.

  2. Hoping your weigh in goes well and you aren’t headed for a hysterectomy! Like the new look and the title.
    Relaxing …very rarely, but writing or reading on a sun lounge with a cool drink at hand are two ways. 🙂
    Keep up the good work.

    1. Thank you! Your way of relaxing sounds sooooo nice. I love to sit out on my patio with a seltzer, but it’s beginning to get too cold here now for that! I certainly hope you get to do everything to make you feel relaxed very soon. 🙂

    1. Hi Deborah! Nice to meet you! I used to relax by eating, too! It’s not the healthiest way to relax–even though eating really good food is pleasurable.
      Looking at water is so very relaxing, so I can totally see why that’s your choice. I’m going to check out your blog now! Thank you for dropping by! 🙂

  3. “Who would have thought that being securely snuggled down in my cuddly bed, snoozing away, isn’t REALLY relieving my stress as much as meditation, progressive muscle relation, or guided imagery?”

    Thoughtful. Great observations. =)

Comments make me reappear!

