Appreciation, blogging, Having fun, Thankfulness, Writing

Thankful to be up to my elbows in Mr. Clean!

Is it the smooth, perfectly shaped head, or his piercing blue eyes that make me love him?  Could it be his self-assured smile, or the mystery of why he wears that earring that keeps him on my mind?
Is it the smooth, perfectly shaped head, or his piercing blue eyes that make me love him? Could it be his self-assured smile, or the mystery of why he wears that earring that keeps him on my mind?

Yesterday, I overheard two ladies in the checkout line at Target lamenting their holiday to-do list. With Thanksgiving Day fast approaching, I’ve been up with the roosters (not that I actually have roosters in my suburban sprawl) cleaning like a little maniac today. Am I complaining?  Heck, no!  This is my favorite time of year.  Not only do I adore the actual holiday of sitting down to drink wine and pig out with friends and family, I thoroughly enjoy the days leading up to the actual holiday.  I’m a planner, a list maker, and a checker-offer.  Placing a well-deserved check-mark next to “launder kitchen and bathroom rugs,” or “scrub living room floor,” is almost as satisfying as taking that first bite of perfectly roasted turkey.

So today, I’ll be up to my elbows in the lemony scent of Mr. Clean, enjoying the smell of freshly washed throw rugs, and savoring the sight of a spotless home.  Tomorrow, I’ll be shopping and Wednesday, I’ll be ironing table clothes, baking, and prepping everything that I can, so I can best spend time with my guests on Thursday.

I promise, as I turn up my speakers, so I can hear every mellow note of Bing Crosby’s Christmas album, that there’s a smile on my face and not a single grumble in my heart.  I’m truly thankful for the process and the busy moments that lead up to our holiday celebrations.  I could go on and on about it, but my old buddy, Mr. Clean is reminding me that my coffee break is over!

Are you like me and enjoy the preparation as much as the event?  If you celebrate Thanksgiving this Thursday, what are your plans?

14 thoughts on “Thankful to be up to my elbows in Mr. Clean!”

  1. I prefer the dining experience to the Mr. Clean experience. 🙂 The next 6 weeks will be like a blur to me. I love it, though. The hustle and the bustle of the holidays really give me a sense of satisfaction once the holidays pass.

  2. You know, I have recently realized that when my house needs a good scrub, it feels like I am getting sick myself! So, Mr. Clean is my “recovery pill”. I think I enjoy preparing my home for guests as much as cooking. But the best part is having people over, of course! May your Thanksgiving be all you are expecting of it!

  3. One house one year, one the next. Since I have moved an hour away, we are having Christmas again at my sister in laws. I stress out when I hold it, but in a good way, especially after a few champagnes. We all contribute, bringing part of the meal and I’m up for the entree, so for something different I am doing an avacado, prawn and potato cocktail, with chilli, coriander, cumin and lime juice served in a lettuce cup. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving so in the clear there as well. 😊

    1. I’m making airline reservations now. Your dish sounds so delish that I’m inviting myself! LOL!

      I really iove hosting because I remember the days that I spent the holidays alone, so a full house is wonderful! 🙂

  4. I love the prep. I have worked as an event planner in past roles and would rarely enjoy the events I had worked on, I’d prefer to stay behind the scenes ensuring everything was going exactly to plan. People used to ask why I didn’t stick around to enjoy an event I’d been planning for weeks or months and I’d say that they’d enjoyed it for a day I’d been enjoying it for weeks or months, planning it and getting it right gave me my buzz. I also find these days that the more time I put into planning the less I have to risk boredom munchies.

    1. I can totally see where you’re coming from. I still seem to enjoy it all. Right now, I’m attempting to plan Christmas Eve and Christmas celebrations, so that all of the snacks leave my house when my guests leave! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

