blogging, enjoying family, Exercise, fitness, Food Addiction, food and family celebrations, Having fun, Maintaining Weight Loss, organic food, Thankfulness, weight loss journal

Four Days of Pie for Breakfast; It’s time for the Gym!

pecan pie
Hi, I’m pecan pie. I’m sweet, delicious, and crunchy, but be warned, I’m almost half a day’s worth of calories!

To say that I had nice Thanksgiving would be an understatement. This holiday was probably one of the most splendid that I’ve had as an adult.  My husband will insist that I say this after every holiday, but this Thanksgiving truly upped the bar for my love of planning, cleaning, cooking and entertaining for family and friends.

We had a total of ten people between immediate family and friends.  I did the majority of the cooking prep the day before, in order to have time to be a proper hostess on the actual day.  My only holiday challenges were seating and table arranging in my small house, and figuring out how to prepare my first organic, pastured turkey.  I decided that rather than worrying about my tiny home, I would imagine that it was placed somewhere in Japan, where it’s size would certainly upgrade it to mansion status.  This gave me a much more positive outlook.  I consulted the Food Network, and used The Pioneer Woman’s instructions and brining recipe to make sure my turkey was juicy and delicious (and it REALLY was).

The combination of food, friends, and family was stellar and our day lasted well into the night, with games and chatter.  Though I sent people home with tons of leftovers, there were still quite a few high calorie treats left at my house.  (Did you know that a slice of pecan pie has 540 calories?)  I’m not sure of the caloric content of pumpkin pie, but I know that from Wednesday through Saturday, it was a part of my “healthy” breakfast, as were dark chocolate walnut brownies.

Today, I’ll begin damage control.  My short foray with sugar ended last night when I microwaved a piece of pecan pie and adorned it with three ample scoops of vanilla bean ice cream.  This morning, I had my usual Fiber One cereal with a half cup of almond milk.  I’m drinking tons of water, and soon as I hit publish, I’m scurrying off to the gym.  I may have overindulged, but I’m not afraid.  I know my winning formula of eating properly and exercising, will have me back on track before the week is over!

Did you overindulge during the Thanksgiving holiday?  Do you have a clear plan for getting back on track after going food crazy?

10 thoughts on “Four Days of Pie for Breakfast; It’s time for the Gym!”

  1. I think we did extremely well, portion-control-wise, and once in a blue moon like this doesn’t kill the program. Also, pumpkin pie has eggs in it, so I’m pretty sure it was indeed meant for breakfast. Thank you for the fabulous feast!

  2. Glad you had a lovely Thanksgiving. We don’t celebrate it. Good that you are in damage control too. I will be after Christmas lunch and Boxing Day lunch. Walking, healthy home made juices, back away from the wine…scotch…gin… 😌

    1. Thank you! It sounds like you have a good plan for damage control, too. I’m fighting cravings today, after allowing myself sugar. Luckily, I’m too tired after my busy weekend, to go rummage through the pantry! 🙂

  3. I love pecan pie. Yes I am aware of the calories not to mention carbs and “sugar” vs fiber. Because my husband and I are both working on healthy eating and there are just the two of us we opted for a nice restaurant meal. It was a buffet but we behaved. Me, I actually did not feel great so picked up a mini pecan tart and left half on the plate. My hubby skipped the turkey all together and selected baked scrod.

    1. Luckily, the pecan pie is gone. There’s still some pumpkin pie taunting me in the fridge, but I can resist it!
      Good for you for going out for dinner. That keeps you from being tempted by leftovers. 🙂

  4. Indulging into tasty treats – that’s what holidays are all about! Coupled with friends and family – you had yourself a perfect Thanksgiving, indeed! Glad for you! My time to indulge is fast approaching – 2 weeks of treats and fun arriving at the end of December 🙂

  5. It’s so reassuring to see how you maintain yourself now and to hear that this is a forever journey as it makes me feel that this time my head is set right and I actually know I can do this. Love that you can enjoy the good stuff in moderation now and compensate later. That’s right where I want to be.

  6. Thank you! I ate everything I wanted during the Thanksgiving holiday, and then since then I’ve been very careful about my food and exercise. I plan to do things the same way with Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Year’s. After that, I’ll get back to my normal plan until probably my birthday, in April!

Comments make me reappear!

