blogging, dealing with food cravings, enjoying family, Having fun, Maintaining Weight Loss, optifast, weight loss journal, Writing

Holiday Hijinks, Maintenance Madness, and Other Happy Stuff

Hello all!  I’ve been really bad about posting lately, so I thought I’d play catch up today.  Here’s what I’ve been up to lately:

Celebrating: Friday was my future son-in-law’s last day of college classes.  As soon as grades come out the week after next, he’ll officially have a communications degree in digital film making with a minor in graphic design.  Last night, we celebrated his accomplishments with a delicious spread of his favorites; fresh, raw veggies & dip, homemade guacamole and chips, and grilled, Korean chicken on a stick.  We had a film festival featuring most of the films that he made during his years in school, and then finished off the evening with an amazing chocolate mocha cake from a nearby bakery.  Don’t worry, I had far more grilled chicken and veggies than I did cake, but I did enjoy a nice slice.  The best announcement at our party is that he has a job interview this Tuesday for an editing position! (Keep your fingers crossed for him!)

He looks so sleepy and innocent, doesn't he?
He looks so sleepy and innocent, doesn’t he?

Holiday Décor vs. Kitties: I love the holidays!  We put our tree up the Sunday after Thanksgiving and the cats have been super-duper delighted about it.  So delighted that we’ve had to resort to shaking a can of coins at them to keep them from eating the branches.  They watch me pick up the can, and know I’m about to terrify them, yet they still can’t help taking a nibble or knocking off an ornament. 

Remember, the burlap garland I was making for my tree?  My other kitty decided that it was delicious.  So delicious that it now resides atop my oldest daughter’s fireplace mantle!  Those crazy kitties!

 

Maintenance:  My weight maintenance is still going well.  I’m hovering between 132-135 pounds and am continuing to work on my core strength and muscle-building.  With this being my first holiday season on maintenance, I’m trying to find a balance between enjoying the treats of the season and making smart choices. On thing I won’t be doing this year is making Christmas cookies.  I know that sounds Scrooge-like, but it’s in my best interest to not have dozens of delicious goodies in my house!  If I just look at it as 3-4 days (Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve & New Year’s Day) of eating away from my plan, it doesn’t seem quite as daunting.  If I’m working out and eating right, the rest of the month, I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Goodbye Peri-menopause : This Wednesday, I’m finally having surgery to help with some peri-menopausal issues that I’ve had for nearly a year now.  It’s outpatient surgery and requires two days of rest and two-weeks of light exercise and no swimming afterwards. If my problem is solved, this will be the best Christmas present ever! 🙂  Please keep me in your thoughts on Wednesday! 🙂

That’s about all that’s been going on in my neck of the woods.  Hope all my readers are doing well! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Holiday Hijinks, Maintenance Madness, and Other Happy Stuff”

  1. This is a post chockful of information, hope, and cheer! All the best to your future son-in-law and I’ll be thinking about you on Wednesday.(And regards to the cats.)

  2. Unfortunately, we will have baked, high carb goodies from now until New Years. The good thing is, my boys will eat them nearly as fast as they are taken out of the oven. Best of luck on Wednesday. 2 weeks of light duty sounds great after that!

    1. I guess I’m going to have to hire some teenaged boys to eat up all of my goodies over the holidays! 🙂
      Thank you so much! I’m a little worried about gaining without my normal routine. I’m sure I’ll get back on track after it all though.
      For some reason I had to approve your messages. I’m going to have make sure I didn’t accidentally un-follow you when I was clicking on your “like” button. 🙂

  3. I’m right with you and your Christmas survival plan, a few days off won’t hurt and having a date to get back to normal will help. Holding off from Christmas baking is also one of my tactics I just dont need that temptation.

    1. I’m going to make one dessert treat for Christmas Eve and one for Christmas day. With my old way of eating, I would have had about 10 different batches of cookies made by now. I’m proud to say that my house is now cookie free! 🙂

Comments make me reappear!

