Appreciation, beach, blogging, Exercise, Having fun, love, Maintaining Weight Loss, marriage, weight loss journal, Writing

I’m Back!

We saw this little guy right before we left the house for the last time. (photo by me)
We saw this little guy right before we left the house for the last time. (photo by me)

Last night, my husband and I arrived home from the land of swaying palm trees, menacing alligators, lounging lizards, magical Spanish moss, and good, old fashioned Southern hospitality.  Unfortunately, as mentioned in my previous post, we were in Hilton Head, South Carolina taking care of things after the death of my father-in-law.

In spite of the dreary task of clearing out, cleaning, and preparing the home for sale, we managed, during our long work days, to seek out the good.  In fact, everything we set out to accomplish was completed, not only with the best of intentions, but with fate placing the best of people in our paths.  Here are some of the highlights–not in any particular order:

  • Spending one on one time with my husband, and confirming how well we get along and work together.
  • Unexpectedly ending up with the nicest, quietest room in the hotel we stayed at.
  • Our hotel being located right beside of the Okatie Ale House–they have the best food in town with lots of healthy choices (even though I didn’t always make the healthiest of choices)!
  • Picking and eating the last orange on the backyard tree.  Delish!
Right from the tree to our tummies!  Yum!! (photo by me)
Right from the tree to our tummies! Yum!! (photo by me)
  • Meeting, and getting to know, the new neighbors who lived beside of my father-in-law.
  • Finding the many letters and family pictures that my in-laws had saved. (Oh, my goodness, my husband was a cute baby!)
  • Visiting Beaufort, SC in between appointments, on our last day in SC.  What a quaint, artsy, beautiful city!
Could Beaufort, SC be any cuter?  The Spanish moss makes you feel like you're in a fairytale! (photo by me)
Could Beaufort, SC be any cuter? The Spanish moss makes you feel like you’re in a fairytale! (photo by me)
  • Finally getting a picture of one of the alligators residing in the neighborhood lagoon.
  • Seeing two anoles on the day we said goodbye to the house.
  • Getting lots of meaningful exercise while cleaning, climbing ladders and lifting boxes.
  • Eating ice cream at least 10 times while away and not gaining ANY weight!!
  • Discovering that everyone in Hilton Head dresses up and finding amazingly great sales at White House/Black Market (I’m talking $100 dress pants for $14.99!).  (I’d packed very quickly, and completely wrong, for the weather and area–now I won’t have to shop for Spring!)
  • Encountering lots of interesting, fun, quirky, and extremely polite people everywhere we went.
  • Coming home to my gorgeous family and sweet kitties!

Now, I’m off to finish unpacking and organizing the things we brought home.  We decided to each choose a special thing to keep from the house as a memory.  My husband chose some wooden carvings of sea creatures that were in his home from childhood.  I picked my mother-in-law’s everyday dishes (I’m not a fine China kinda girl!).  I’ve always loved them, and they certainly make me think of family dinners and good times at the beach.

I thought these would be a nice memento of good times shared with my in-laws.  (Photo by me)
I thought these would be a nice memento of good times shared with my in-laws. (Photo by me)

 

I hope everyone is doing well.  Thank you for your kind messages and well-wishes while we were away. 🙂

Finally, a shot of that elusive gator!  Can you see how well he blends in to the environment?  (photo by me)
Finally, a shot of that elusive gator! This is the smallest one.Can you see how well he blends in to the environment? (photo by me)

 

 

10 thoughts on “I’m Back!”

  1. I’ve not been very active on my blog so I’ve missed so much. I’m sorry about your father-in-law. I love that you kept a keepsake as a memento. You chose well as those little seashell dishes are darling.

    1. Thank you so much. My husband and I will be married 14 years in August and I feel like I had my in-laws for such a short time. They were both alcoholics most of their lives and I didn’t meet them until after they were sober–about five years into our marriage. They both admittedly regretted the time of their lives that they spent drinking once they finally found sobriety. They were always so kind and loving to my daughters and me. They will be very missed.
      I’ve always loved those dishes. The shell-shaped salad plate is my favorite. They’re no longer made, but my husband found several pieces from the set, that were missing, online and got them for me as a late Valentine’s Day gift.
      I’ve not been as active on my blog either. I’ve been so busy offline with things that I often don’t have time. It’s great to hear from you! Take care! 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear about the passing of your father-in-law…I lost mine this year too. I miss him most when we have family dinners and he is not there with us. Blessings to you and your husband.

    1. Thank you, and I’m sorry for your loss, too. Last night my husband and I were sorting through one of the many boxes of pictures and memorabilia that we brought from the house, and we found my father-in-law’s high school yearbook. We had a good laugh, because he’d put little, funny comments by a lot of the pictures. It was also neat to see that my mother-in-law had affectionately signed in it, before they were dating. It was obvious that she had a crush on him! I’m so glad we always have the good memories and pictures.

Comments make me reappear!

