blogging, Guilty pleasures, Having fun, weight loss journal, Writing

Monday’s Musical Musings

I love music and can’t go through the day without taking the time to listen to it.  In spite of my affection for a wide range of genres, musically, I have no clear-cut talent, other than making a decent workout playlist, or dance mix for a party.

I had four, long, years of piano lessons, but can now only play the first few measures of Fur Elise and another song called Swans on a Lake, from my old John Thompson music primer.  My singing voice is mediocre after eight years of voice lessons from high school throughout college. Even though I managed to snag several handfuls of roles in my school’s musicals, the songs I performed were mostly campy numbers that were sung with more affectation than vocal prowess.

Oddly, I’ve always had excellent musicians around me.  My brother is a gifted pianist and vocalist.  My husband is an amazing guitar player and singer.  My eldest daughter plays several instruments with mastery, and both of my daughters have angelic singing voices and perfect pitch. Time and again, I’ve come to the realization that if our family suddenly had the chance to audition for American Idol, that I would be the one left without a “golden ticket” to Hollywood.  But, hey, that’s alright with me.  I still have a great time singing slightly off-key with my iPod and belting out tunes in my car with nearly as much enthusiasm and emotion as any Grammy winner.

Here are a few tunes that have been stuck in my head lately:

 

How about all of you?  What songs are stuck in your head lately?  Please, feel free to share them and have a great day! 🙂

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Monday’s Musical Musings”

  1. I always forget lyrics to a song so I’m usually stuck with one or two sentences that keep repeating themselves over and over. Like The sun’ll come out tomorrow. So you got to hang on till tomorrow. Come what may. la la la Write on – Craig Wilder

  2. I love ” Thinking out loud”- I heard it a lot on the radio last year in Summer. It makes me so happy to hear it. My friend did her bridal dance to it.

Comments make me reappear!

