enjoying family, honoring mother, Mother's Day, Motherless Daughters, Thankfulness, Uncategorized, Wisdom, Writing

Happy Mother’s Day

I am away from home on Mother’s Day, but my heart is satisfied because part of home is here with me; my eldest daughter and grandson.  I should more rightly say that I’m here with them.  My daughter has nearly finished her intern year as a physician and is rotating for two months at a major state hospital’s pediatric intensive care unit because our local medical center doesn’t have one.  I’m along as Nana, caring for “Li’l C”, as my daughter works grueling hours caring for children not as healthy as her little one.

Today, my thoughts are on the sacrifice that all that moms and their “villages” endure to make sure their precious offspring are healthy, happy, and sound.  My other thoughts are of my own mom, who died at 48.  Few days go by that this 52-year-old  doesn’t think of the special moments that she failed to experience.  Though they never met her, my own children share so many of her characteristics; perseverance, strength, kindness, and the desire to help others.  I may not have parented exactly like her, but my goals were the same; to raise people worth knowing.  Despite odds and obstacles, I know I’ve done just that.

Happy Mother’s Day to moms and their villages everywhere!

 

IMG_5473
It’s possible that my grandson is the cutest baby on the planet?!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day”

    1. Hi Elaine! I’m doing very well and hope that you are too! I’ve been so busy with the baby that I’ve not spent much time on WordPress lately. I’m sure you’ve been cooking up some delicious things that I need to check out!

Comments make me reappear!

